Ratings based on 1,174 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No elevator

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: The staff from the front desk. They are very helpful and nice
Cons: They need an elevator. The hotel has ten floors
Location: Convenient.
I have reduced mobility and they assigned me a room at the sixth floor...but they have their elevator out of service so I have to use the stairwell every time. That was painful for my broken foot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
True 1 star hotel. Toilet won’t flush, AC too loud, flies in the room, smells, old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel close to the convention center

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Rate, location, staff
Cons: Pillow options, venting/cleaning bathroom
The location of this hotel is wonderful, making it's affordable rate worth it. In addition, the staff and the desk whom I interacted with were pleasant and helpful. However, there are definitely some downsides you will notice in regards to the room itself. This includes, no ventilation in the bathroom (some mold/mildew on ceiling), small quarters, and rock hard bed with rock hard pillows. While this hotel certainly is older, and I would not choose it for a relaxing vacation, it is perfect for someone who needs a local place to stay for a short trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

Room for improvement

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Wifi very poor,Hotel needs upgrading very bad,just good enough for sleepover for one night, the price is to much for poor facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great place and inexpensive

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I decided on an impromptu trip to Los Angeles to see the unveiling of Selena Quintanilla’s star on the Hollywood walk of fame and the Stillwell hotel came up as the most inexpensive bundle that was in downtown so after reading all the reviews both negative and positive I decided to give it a shot and book it. It’s great location, sure the hotel is old but if you’re just using it to go back and sleep it work. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating and I had absolutely zero issues. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blythe, ca

Enjoyed my stay pretty peaceful loved it!

Posted Oct 31, 2017
It was great nothing to complain, great location, great staff, all questions answered right away, very peaceful, enjoyed it will return there when needed to be in that area again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Stillwell hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay in old DTLA, we appreciate your feedback. Came to LA soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Does the job ++

Posted Oct 26, 2017
The staff was professional and efficient. Hotel is old but clean. Room was spacious, esp the closet. The bed can be more comfy. It was a bit lumpy and too soft. There are restos, cafes and shops within walking distance. It does the job ++.
1 out of 5
by Soleyman

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
The 3 night that we stay in that hotel room 819 it was full of bedbug and they bite all of our body had a bad experience in this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Historic hotel and it shows.

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was affordable.
Cons: Sorry no recommendations ... the Stillwell hotel is an aging hotel and unfortunately it shows.
Location: In the middle of old downtown and surrounding area under construction. Have to walk at least 4 to 5 blocks to get to places of interest .
For the price in "expensive" LA the hotel was just a place to get a good nice rest and take a shower each day and get ready for the next day at the conference that I attended in the LA conference center about 20 minutes walking distance. The room had an odor... that I attributed to the building's age and poor/old ventilation system. The A/C kept the room comfortable at night. The odor problem was taken care of by buying a can of my favorite air freshener in a nearby store. The air freshener was used daily... once when I arrived back in the afternoon and again before I left each morning. The sheets were clean...bed made-up and I received clean towels everyday from room svc staff. This was definitely a no frill hotel and it showed. No complaints from me, as all that I wanted was a less expensive (able to afford) and clean hotel to spend the night in and get some sleep. The cable TV and WiFi was good ... received great reception and fast down-load speeds. So many new buildings were under construction in the surrounding/immediate area and I believe that this hotel days are numbered and along with it will go the affordable price tag, for a clean spot to spend a night or two-three or even five. Downtown LA is such an expensive place to find a good inexpensive hotel, but that's life. Nice place to visit (for official business), but too expensive for my pocket book. Thanks for the opportunity to provide feed-back on my stay at the Stillwell Hotel.
4 out of 5
by Seri

Inexpensive and quiet

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
My room was on the 7th floor overlooking the parking lot so traffic noise was not an issue as it has been in every other hotel I have stayed in in LA. For me, that made this a place I would return to. The front desk staff was helpful. The bed was a rock, towels scratchy and the furnishings old but the room was clean and had a microwave, fridge and nice TV. The location was convenient. For a short work trip I would definitely stay there again.