Ratings based on 1,444 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Standard stay

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Areas of hotel were not accessible like the roof top lounge. That was my reason for staying there. My rim to my vehicle was scrapped on a curve while at valet. Very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pinole, ca

Staff was inconsiderate and unhelpful

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Checked in, stayed there and tried to go swimming at the rooftop bar. Had forgot my ID and they wouldn't even let me go swimming or use the pool. Understandable since it was a rooftop bar (I'm of age). While I was checking out and valet helped me with my bags, one of my bags got left behind so I called lost and found. A woman told me that yes they had my Bag. I get to the hotel later on and no one had a clue what I was talking about. Front desk said they had nothing logged that anything was found. I started freaking out. They call lost and found and the man on the phones attitude towards me was so impatient and annoyed with me. I tried explaining what happened and he said to call back in 10 minutes. he acted as if he didn't care at all. I went around asking different front desk employees, turns out it was behind the desk the whole time. If he would have just tried, then I wouldn't have had to go around asking everyone. I felt like no one cared.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Bathrooms need updating. The showers are fine but the grout and over all feel lacks interest. Bedding was nice. Bed was nice. TV stand was different and seemed like it was out of some communist Russian hotel, minus the flat screen. Hotel restaurant was my favorite spot. Bright and cheery. Great staff. Welcoming and seemed the most relevant. Loved the hotel building and it's historic details though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool design, but not functional

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
I love great design but great design has to be functional, and this is where The Standard fell down. Pros: The LOOK, the rooms are large, the showers are huge/ water is hot and the toiletries are superb. Cons: Function. For example, the bed is just a mattress set upon a carpeted 6 inch plywood platform that extends about 18" on each side. If it feels like you are sleeping on a mattress on a floor, it's because YOU ARE! What's more, the headboard was only 8-10" so it was impossible to comfortably sit up in bed and read because the headboard would dig into your back. The second example is the bathoom design - there is a beautiful drum sink that is set on a counter, 18" off the ground. The sink is regular height, but anything you put on the counter, you must bend over to get or use. Furthermore, there is no makeup mirror, no luggage rack, the only sitting/ desk chair is an uncomfortable (but cool looking) plastic chair - no place to sit and read or do work, which is odd given the hotel's location downtown. And there isn't a coffee maker in the room, which just is ridiculous in this day and age. In short, the hotel is eye-candy but not functional. Finally, be forewarned - there is a pretty happening nightlife scene at the pool so that's awesome if you're into that. However, know that if you're trying to get sleep for a big meeting the next day, be sure to bring earplugs or noise cancelling headphones.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Charlene

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel rooms are very minimal but efficient use of the space and pretty spacious at the same time. The restaurant on the main level has delicious food and service is great. Location is good if you like to be around the financial area (taller buildings). Shopping and the Staples Centre is within walking distance. To valet park if you have your own car is a bit pricey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by P MICHAEL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels