Ratings based on 3,815 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit

Location is great. Hotel is very outdated.

Posted Feb 20, 2018
3pm check in is like waiting in line at an amusement park. Tons of people single file line up to all check in. Ridiculous! Rooms are very 90’s. Nothing modern or updated. No plugs on night stand for charging up phones. Carpet is filthy. No amenities like bar service in huge lobby. Conservatory bar is nice location but no service/food. Very strange, dull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lawrenceburg, IN

Nice Hotel close to Yum Center

Posted Feb 20, 2018
You can tell this hotel is old which makes it pretty neat. My biggest problem was the cleanliness of our Bathroom. Didn't seem like it was swept well at all. There was hair all around the edges of the floor and the shower drain clogged up during the showers and there was hair all around the floor in there as well. The beds were clean and comfortable. It was a huge suite. Only other problem was that the thermostat didn't seem to work at all. I did like how we could walk from the hotel straight into the Yum Center for our concert and basketball game. We would stay here again when we come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mitchell, In

Perfect Location

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Nice hotel located close to e everything downtown with a fantastic view of Ohio River. Only issue was check in. We arrived early and requested to check in our room early. Arrived at 1:30pm and we were told not yet but to come vack at 2:30pm...told not yet........back to bar, then went back a 3pm to about 60 guest in a long line to get checked in. Kind of damped our excitememt for our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right on the river

Posted Feb 19, 2018
My partner and I only stayed 2 nights, but our say was great! The room was large (larger than we needed it to be), the bed was comfy, the view was beautiful, the staff was friendly and professional, and the room service was yummy (although pricey). It is definitely an upscale hotel with many amenities. I would definitely recommend treating yourself to a fancy dinner at the Rivue! Food and staff were incredible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the Yum Center

Posted Feb 19, 2018
I was disappointed tht the hotel would not allow even a 10 minute early check-in. Because of this, there was a very long line of people waiting to check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

clean and large rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2018
defiantly book for next year great staff excellent location easy parking plenty of amenities relaxing atmosphere good food nite life is just a few blocks away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2018
First time at the Galt House and it was a very nice experience. Enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Terrible Check-In

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Took 1/2 hour 2 check-in; room was supposed to be Deluxe King; ended up with two queens. Too much trouble to change to lower floor king.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2018
When arriving at the Galt House we had our room upgraded! The overall room was very nice. The only problem was that it was loud. You could hear the traffic from the expressway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2018 by Galt House Online Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and your upgrade. We are located near an expressway and we recommend that guests who will find the traffic noise disturbing to notify the front desk when they make their reservation and request a room further away from I-64. Thank you for alerting potential guests to this issue and for taking the time to review our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hopkinsville Kentucky

My favorite place to stay

Posted Feb 12, 2018
I love staying at the Galt House because it is so close to everything. You can walk to the Belle of Louisville and Fourth Street Live. It has some great restaurants right in the hotel and countless more within walking distance. Also, it's right on the river so you can get some nice views and just a quick drive over the bridge will take you into Indiana.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Galt House Online Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Sarah, thank you for sharing details about our ideal location on the river with other potential guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Louisville.