Ratings based on 3,672 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Beautiful, convenient in the heart of downtown.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Louisville with convenient options for food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by The Galt House, Hotel Management
Janie, we are glad to hear you had a positive experience at the Galt House. We hope you return in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Front desk upgraded me to a suite, without me asking, saving me a trip to the adjoining tower in bad weather. Suite was quite large and well appointed. The place is showing its age a bit, but still very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by The Galt House, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review and your honest feedback. We are glad to hear that you experienced a hospitable stay at the Galt House. We are soon starting renovations, and hope you return in the future to experience the updated rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice hotel, very pretty views.

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: the service
Cons: the rooms need a little updating
Very nice hotel, but even better service. Everyone was accommodating and friendly and on a business trip were I was alone they made me feel like I was among family. The rooms themselves could do with a little bit of updating because even though they are very clean you can tell that everything is just a little passed its prime. Overall a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by The Galt House, Hotel Management
Lisandra, I am glad to hear that you experienced our standard of Kentucky hospitality. The Galt House is soon undergoing renovations to improve and modernize the rooms. We hope that you return in the future and get to enjoy our renovations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland, Indiana

Apartment at the Galt

Posted Dec 7, 2017
We reserved 2 suites at the Galt and they advised us that they had overbooked. Without a blink from the manager he gave us 2 apartments at no additional charges. They strive on customer satisfaction. We will always stay here on our trips to Nashville.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by The Galt House, Hotel Management
Brian, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our hospitable staff was able to accommodate your needs for the two suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Hotel was close to venue

Posted Dec 3, 2017
My daughter and I stayed at your hotel to see Janet Jackson in concert at the Yum Center. It was nice to walk to the Yum Center instead of driving and to leave the concert and walk back to the hotel. Enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by The Galt House, Hotel Management
Pam, thank you for your review. We are glad that you and your daughter had a positive experience at the Galt House, and enjoyed your concert while in town. We hope that you return in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Good location, poor experience.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The room’s cleanliness lacked attention. Large clusters of dust fell from between the curtains when closing and opening. Very uncomfortable beds and bedding. Room lacked ability to hang notification of “do not disturb” or any other information.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by The Galt House, Hotel Management
We apologize for your poor experience at the Galt House. We will soon start renovations, giving the rooms a cleaner and more modern appearance. We hope that you return in the future to experience our updated rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. IN

A lot of screaming kids this time of year.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Not Abad place but a lot of screaming kids this time of year. Every where we went kids running wild screaming... At check-in screaming kids at the restaurant / bar and even as I sit here at 11:30pm in my room kids running up and down the hall and the rooms beside and above me not a bad place but not worth all the noise it sounds like the kids above and beside us are right in the room screaming and jumping around. Maybe some other time of year it would be okay.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Great Location & Amenities

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Quite pleasantly surprised that the Hotel was fantastic in several ways. Great location !!! Hotel Amenities from 5 star restaurants...24/ 7 cafe...stylish gym....dual towers with easy cross over bridge. The primary negative was outdoor pool closed...should have an indoor pool + spa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Galt House Hotel is a bit dated. That being said, I had a great experience at the hotel. Upon pulling up I was greeted by a friendly valet who quickly helped me get to the check-in seamlessly (I didn't have to worry about my bags or my vehicle). Check-in was fantastic and staff was extremely friendly. The woman told me they were upgrading everyone to a suite that day - the hotel was huge and it was just before Thanksgiving travel started so I guess they had the room. My suite was amazing - and larger than my two bedroom apartment! I was very happy with my room and the location of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great Louisville hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Location, great staff from check-in to concierge & recommend an executive room for the lounge area with bar fridge, sink & coffee maker.
Cons: Nothing, we had a great stay.
Location: Downtown location Live on 4th Evan Williams Bourbon Distillery tour River Steamboat tours Jim Beam Distillery Tour, Clermont - 30min drive
We wanted a hotel that was well positioned. It's just a 5minute walk to the Live on 4th entertainment district & Evan Williams Bourbon Distillery tour.