Ratings based on 933 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and the food in the Lobby Bar is great! Loved listening to the piano players while I enjoyed eating the Hot Brown and sipped a Kentucky Mule. Will be back to this hotel for sure when I am in the Louisville area. Downtown area is very clean and easy to get around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, IN

Historic hotel near the Brown theatre

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: A classic historical landmark, with 19th century charm.
Cons: A lamp fixture was loose in the room and, oddly, the shower curtain seemed to saturate through both layers and soak the floor.
We stayed here for the evening after attending the Home Free Christmas concert at the nearby theater. Everything is just as you would imagine for a hotel of this reputation. We dined at the English Grill, had Derby Pie in the lobby after the concert, and then had breakfast in the Graham Cafe the following morning. The staff maintain a notable level of professionalism that is missing so much these days. A wonderful stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Dear Todd, Delighted to read all your good thoughts. Appreciate the notes on the professionalism of the staff. Thanks for the constructive note. Hope to have you back with us. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Interesting historic hotel. Not quite as nice as expected with some shabby looking parts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
At check-in, the staff member was very friendly and gave us an upgraded room. The lobby was magnificent and our room was very comfortable. There were several small touches throughout the room that made it perfect! We had a drink at the hotel bar late in the evening. It was a very nice atmosphere and nice menu. We ate at J. Grahams for lunch. The service was fantastic and the hot brown was delicious. I can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Pleased to see you enjoyed our friendly staff, lobby bar and Cafe. Let me know when you return to Louisville and I will block a nice room. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Great historic hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Wonderiful historic hotel, great staff and service. This is definitely a 5 star hotel in the middle of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Always great to read of a 5 star rating. Hope to have you back with us again. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely historical hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The Brown is a very nice and comfortable hotel. The front staff was amazingly helpful and courteous. Making my room available in advance after a long trip was much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the top rating. We look forward to your return. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erlanger KY

Beautiful historic hotel.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful
Cons: Cleanliness, attention to detail, fix a/c
Maybe it was because we booked on Expedia, but it seemed like we were put in a less than stellar room. There was mold in the shower, the hair dryer didn't work, the a/c didn't cool the room, the bedside phone didn't work and we found a completed breakfast order form on our bed from several days earlier that had been completed by a previous guest. Overall the hotel is gorgeous, but I am glad that I didn't pay rack room rates. I did mention these items upon checkout and they refunded our valet parking fees and the woman at checkout was very nice and apologetic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from petaluma, ca

Great hotel, tons of history and character

Posted Nov 3, 2017
A bourbon cocktail at the hotel bar is a must. The Hot Brown is a must also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by BW, Hotel Management
Dear Don, Appreciate the nice thought on our lobby bar! We look forward to having you back with us again soon. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: The Lobby Bar restaurant, the hot brown was excellent.
Cons: Clean the windowsill of cobwebs
Location: Close to everything downtown
The hotel was old but very nice. This a high end hotel so jeans and tennis shoes are not appropriate to wear. The housekeeping staff offer a turn down service at night with robes provided in the room. Clean the cobwebs from the windowsills. The hotel is within walking distance of many local attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by BW, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Many thanks for the 5 stars as well as noting our great location to all the sights of Louisville. Look forward to having you back with us again soon. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Nice clean room. Nice employees. Great stay. Beautiful beautiful place.