Ratings based on 1,227 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Central to capital building and convention center

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We attended an IronMan event in Madison and were very pleased with the location of the hotel with respect to the convention center. We had all the convenience without the noise that surrounds the capital on a Saturday night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel staff is always very friendly. Breakfast is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, OH

Great hotel in downtown Madison

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Fantastic experience. Breakfast was great, and the hotel has a bar. One of the employees, Ira, went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Next time in Madison will stay here for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill

Downtown Madison Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Well located, walking distance to many restaurants. Very comfy bed. I had a very large corner room with three large windows. Black out drapes were very useful for sleeping late. Decent free breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good location, bad housekeeping

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Housekeeping needs complete retraining.
Overall, the hotel is modern and well-kept. However, the first morning we woke up to notice a blood stain on our sheets. We didn't notice it the night before because it was further down the bed and we hadn't pulled the covers all the way back. It was definitely not an old stain that had been laundered. The mattress pad beneath was stained as well. This can only mean that sheets were not changed after the last guest. Pretty disgusting. The rest of the stay we noticed that housekeeping did not always empty the garbage, wipe down counters, leave enough towels, etc. Very disappointing for a Hyatt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomsburg PA

Friendly, comfortable downtown Madison hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Location: Hotel is within walking distance to everything downtown. The farmer's market at the capital square is always a treat. Beer on the UW Terrace is a +
This is my third time staying here. I have always found the hotel to be very clean, the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast to be just right. The location is wonderful, and the parking, while $12/day is very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Recommend!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Very clean and new hotel, good location, just parking lot to small, needed looking for available space Recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great stay for a conference.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The room is very large, 10min walk to the convention center. Breakfast is included.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but oddly shaped and a few things missing.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The room was very nice; clean and modern. It's also three blocks from the capitol.
Cons: Vending machines on each floor for people that don't want to traipse through the lobby and guests to buy a snack. A hot tub would be nice!
Location: If you want to purchase less expensive snacks, Capital Centre Foods is about 4 blocks away. State Street shopping is about 5 blocks away.
The hotel was built on a very narrow piece of land. Because of this, the hotel is not very wide, but is very long. The lobby seems huge, and there is a cafe to the right of it. There is only one long hallway on the ground floor so you have to walk past everyone in the lobby and at the reservation desk to get to the snacks in the cafe. Very embarrassing when you've just come out of the (small) pool and want to buy something to drink. No vending machines anywhere; you have to buy it through the cafe. I stood there dripping wet in the lobby waiting for someone to come out and let me purchase a soda. Also, very odd for a fairly expensive hotel to NOT have a hot tub in the pool area. The actual pool isn't the smallest one I've seen (that would be at Park Inn in Madison) but it's small; maybe due to the narrowness of the hotel. Here's a small but odd note: I had the top floor corner suite. However, there weren't "corner windows". Lake Monona is right behind my hotel wall. Why not have a window so I can see it from my room? I could see it wonderfully from the huge window right outside my hotel room door. You could charge much more for those views. The actual view from my room was of the alley used to get to the parking ramp.