Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Beautiful lake front gem.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The edgewater is perfectly situated to explore Madison. We walked to the farmers market in the am and enjoyed dining on the square at the old fashioned later that evening. The boathouse was great for dining and watching the sunset ... until the mosquitoes came out. That's part of summer in the Midwest though and not unexpected! We will be back to relax In the spa! It's beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great location; choose room carefully

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: As above, great location
Cons: Make it clear in which building you're staying. Train wait staff better.
This is a perfectly situated hotel, that has a number of amenities close to Lake Mendota. The rooms are reasonably priced and in good condition as well. It's just a short walk to all of the sights on the isthmus of Madison, including the capitol, State St, and excellent dining and drinking options. When making reservations, you need to make sure you know in which building you're staying. The Wisconsin building has best access and the Statehouse restaurant. To get to the original Langdon building (where we stayed) with luggage, you need to walk through a long circuitous tunnel. If I had to do it over again, I would have paid extra for a lake-view room in the Wisconsin building. Finally, the wait staff at the Boat House and Statehouse are pretty inexperienced - they seemed like UW students on a summer job. Their service was chaotic. The maitre d's were good, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perham MN

Wonderful treat - will return

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Only stayed 1 night - wish we had booked a second. Sure, it wasn't cheap... but it was a lovely hotel with awesome views, the staff was super helpful, and the robes were the cherry on top. If we ever come back to Madison, we are staying again for several nights, and will upgrade to one of the tub suites.
5 out of 5
by David

Memorable Stay

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Superb hotel experience. Beautiful condition. Our room was so comfortable and the view of the lake was spectacular. We had a fantastic meal in the Statehouse Restaurant. For newcomers like us, we had to figure out how to get from one place to the next, but we eventually got it. Overall, we had a fantastic stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely lakeside view

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Valet parking and room service
Overall my stay was very pleasant. The valet parking could work out some quirks. The garage is confusing and does not have good signage and space markings. This tends to discourage self parking. Also, I asked for my car to be ready at 8:30 am by calling down the evening before each evening for the first two days. The first day they couldn't find my car, so it wasn't ready until about 8:50 am. As a result, I was 15 minutes late for my meeting. The second morning the car was not ready at 8:30, so I had to wait then rush to my meeting. For the third morning, I called for my car in the morning, and it was ready. Room service could improve by delivering food while it is still hot. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellent water views

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The water view and the comfort.
Cons: The front desk guy was a notch down from helpful, but he might have been having a bad day.
Location: It's a great place in a great location.
What a wonderful hotel. You couldn't ask for better accommodations and location.
4 out of 5
by Din from New York City

Great Location for UW Madison Stay

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
i enjoy the Edgewater. It's a happening spot within a wall's distance to most of what you want to do in Madison. The beds are comfortable, the scenery outside of the window in the lakeview rooms is beautiful, and the showers are heavenly. I didn't find the restaurant to be SUPER amazing but there are adequate food options all around. On this stay, less care was taken to be thorough in cleaning the room than I have previously experienced (shower gel from the previous guest was still on the shower wall), but the stay was still a pleasurable one.
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Restoring the historic luster

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent decor and furnishings. Very high end tile. My first stay since their remodel. I give it an A+
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Mark saved the day

Posted May 2, 2017
I was celebrating my wedding and there was a transportation issue getting to the Ceremony. Mark offered to drive us right there, no questions asked, and was just so kind and helpful. We couldn't find a fan switch for the bathroom and we also feel the toilet paper should be nicer.