Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Darrell from Woodbury MN

Great hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels
Would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location- Nothing else

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels
Beside good location and good price, nothing else to recommend. Spider web on the lights beside of the bed. Clogged bath.Noise whole night. If you are coming to visit the college with your daughter and son (liked me) give them better first impression of the Madison.
4 out of 5
by Tim from St. Louis

Fun trip to Madison

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
We had a very fun weekend trip to Madison and really enjoyed our stay at University Inn. We'll be back.
3 out of 5
by Bassem AlShaarani from Qatar

Close to University but very noisy most days

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
It was OK overall but it got really noisy sometimes with drumming and a full scale marathon at 7 am on a Saturday? didn't have the best sleep ever. The hotel is very basic with 0 amenities so only good if you just want it for sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to State Street, the capital

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Friendly staff, convenient. Made coffee for me. I like the location by State Street, fun to try restaurants there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The University Inn has a great location!

Posted Aug 9, 2013
We didn't spend a ton of time in the room since there is a lot to do around the hotel. We had a large, clean room that we were pleased with.
2 out of 5
by Toot

Two beds One towels

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Quaint, retro look. Great location.
Cons: Not handicapped accessible.
Location: Everything is very close. Clubs, bars, variety of restaurants.
No vanity in the bathroom, so nowhere to put my toiletries. ONE bath towel was in the room. Four hAnd towels, I guess I could have made do. Air conditioning sounded terrible. It startled me awake each time the condenser kicked over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Humble reviewer from Here and there

Other than the residue of spilled, sticky beer ...

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: I liked the proximity to the Art Museum and to the lake. I liked the room because of the nice use of space and its cleanliness. I liked the parking.
Cons: As I mentioned there was some 2:00 AM and 3:00 AM noise which may be student related, but there may have been an early AM furniture delivery overhead!
Location: Might be the best location for nearness to the art museum. Little shops for a couple blocks are nice, and the walk to the lake area does not take long
The liquid sticky beer residue on the elevator floor about to take us up was a warning, but the elevator floor was cleaned - not for the go down - for the next access up. The room was very nice and comfortable to be in and clean. There was some noise around 3:00 AM that sounded right overhead as if movers were sliding furniture. Also there was a male/female passing argument apparently en route to the elevator around 2:00 AM. Other than that I slept fine. The parking was excellent, couldn't be any closer. The help appeared to be all students, and all were intelligently mannered and helpful and informative. A+ for sure. There was also a very sweet Hispanic young woman, deferential and sincere in manner with her housekeeping. I was there before school starts, and it may be it's a motel that might attract youthful and party prone atmosphere makers, but that would remain to be seen. It is a nicely located motel in walking distance to much, including the excellent Art Museum a couple blocks away, and the lake not too far either..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by MLP from Mpls

Just what I wanted.

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Proximity to campus and price.
Cons: No improvements necessary.
Location: Shopping, football, college campus and all that that implies.
I needed a clean, safe, comfortable place to sleep close to campus and the University Inn was exactly what I wanted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near State Street Mall.

Posted Aug 2, 2013
The hotel is in a great location. I just wish I didn't come out in the morning to find a beer bottle on the back bumper of my car.