Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The views are spectacular. This is my favorite place on the malecon. Been coming here since 1981. I brought friends here and family too, this time
Cons: The bathroom needs to be totally REDONE. Need some lively paint. More linens, goodbye to the old bedspreads from the 70's. And wash cloths and more
Location: It's the best in Mazatlan. Lots of nearby local places, La Copa de Leche, the Plaza Machado, the malecon.
This time was a disappointment, by no fault of the hotel the front roads in the area are under construction as is the hotel, under remodel. The restaurant did not have full service due to this, I love the restaurant and that was a real bummer! Also, the rooms have not been updated for years, I am hoping beyond hope that not only do they finally get some new furniture, wall art, or more comfortable beds, but that they paint this charming lovely old historic hotel a beachy color to match the other buildings in downtown area, more color, not drab old green. I have a great love for La Siesta and could think of so many things to do with it, even if the cost goes up a bit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Hotel La Siesta, Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you for your observations. Like you say, no fault of the hotel on the renovation of the road, it is been a difficult time for us since we are not able to provide the service as you deserve. I believe you stayed in an ocean view room, at this time all of our interior rooms are renovated, floors, complete bathroom, furniture. Our ocean view rooms are under renovation, hopefully before the end of the year they will be ready. We probably had full capacity during your stay and could not be able to show you renovated room. A year ago the PATIO floor was change too. Please visit us soon and you will see the difference. Again thank you for sharing your experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Hotel is very Old and rustic

Posted May 9, 2017
We get to the hotel late our checked in is good staff are very attentive and helpful. Our room is is old, bathroom is very basic no face towel , no coffee maker and refrigerator for cold drinks sad thing is not even ice machine in the in the building one of the staff even went to buy bag of ice for us. Street Constructions excavation in progress in front of the building too noisy and dusty the entire we stayed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Hotel La Siesta, Hotel Management
Good day! The renovations started around your arrival day, we apologize for the inconvenience. Your reservation was in an ocean view room, we are working on the renovations on that area but all of our interior rooms are ready, floors, closet, complete bathroom, furniture. Hopefully before the end of the year all the rooms will be ready. Thank you for all your observations. Best regards.
4 out of 5
by DOUG

Another Nice Stay

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Most of the rooms newly renovated. Much nicer than before. Price was good value. Front desk staff excellent. Hotel overlooks Malecon and ocean. Short walk to Centro and Plaza Machado. Many bars and restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017
Thank you very much for your sharing your experience. We look forward for your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Lovely hotel for adventuring all around Mazatlan.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Love the courtyard and the decks on the ocean side rooms. The staff is great and always helpful.
Cons: Love it just the way it is.
Spent a week here for the 3rd time. Love the nightlife and the historic part of town. Easy to get all over Mazatlan in a pulmonia.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Sales manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your preference and comments. We look forward for your next visit. Receive my best regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cupertino

Rundown and needs updates

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: I liked the price and location.
Cons: The items I wrote about under "experience."
Location: The location is ideal if you like the old town area and don't need the junky souvenir t-shirt shops or senor frogs.
This was our 2nd stay at La Siesta. The things that were noticeably not as good this time were: 1) the room smelled very musty (due to humidity and maybe not occupied as often as the beach side) 2) the cover sheet does not look like they are washed often or at all (I know we never use them anyway - but...) 3) their open courtyard floor had way too many bird droppings on the tile ground (I know pigeons are nuisances). I was concerned more about tracking the waste into our room. 4) There seems to be a bunch of water leaks dripping around the outside the stair area that does not affect the inside rooms but just noticeably need maintenance. In summary, the price and location are fine for me but I will only stay again if I get a beach front room where the windows get opened more often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

So much for so little money

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, views, price
Location: put on some flip flops and take a walk. so much to see
My wife and I loved this place. I hesitate to write a good review because I dont want people to know about our diamond in the rough. Awesome views just outside our window. I could sit on the balcony all day and people watch. Its not a 5 star hotel but the location and the views make up for it. Staff was very pleasent and helpfull. Although we didnt hangout in the courtyard it is very nice. The shrimp bucket was nice but a little spendy compared to other places. If you want to eat you have to take a walk to the park the food is awesome and reasonable. It is also nice that there is a store on the corner where we bought Caronas for 75 cents and would hang out on the balcony and take in the views. Great place to stay if you want to get off the golden zone...very safe!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very well situated

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Great price for a clean simple hotel.
Cons: This hotel is currently being renovated.
Location: The Siesta is an easy walk to the market, Plaza and not far from the ferry to Stone Island.
The Siesta is very well situated near markets beach, restaurants and buses. The small balconies along the front are perfect for people watching. Rooms are clean and newly remodeled with an excellent air conditioning system, hairdryer, tv. The pool is small and cold but clean! Staff rom restaurant will serve at pool. A very simple hotel with friendly staff...
4 out of 5
by Diana

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Stay went well. Easy to get around. Friendly helpful folks. Great restaurant on sight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prime location

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was a good time, people were friendly, I'd definitely would consider staying there again