Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Historical and Cultural Location.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Location excellent in Centro. Somewhat noisy on weekend as close to Plaza Machado. Great place if want to walk and view old architecture Staff very friendly and helpful Hotel could use some upgrading but thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Great location, nice staff, beautiful old building

Posted Nov 23, 2017
We went to Mazatlán for Dia de los Muertos, so we wanted to stay close to Plaza Machada. The location of the Melville was perfect...two minutes to the plaza and less than five to Olas Altas Beach and the malecon. So much that we wanted to see/do was within walking distance. Also, we loved staying in a real neighborhood, where we could spend time talking to the wonderful locals. I tend to research things to death, so there were no surprises when we arrived at the Melville. The building is old, but lovingly cared for, and the staff are great. We had a deluxe one bedroom unit (#16). The unit was spotless, everything worked, and other than the fact that the bed was a little hard for my liking (no complaints from my husband), it was exactly what we had hoped for. If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest bringing earplugs. The restaurant/bar on the corner across from the Melville had live music going on outdoors several nights we were there, until almost 1 a.m. Also, there is much street/sidewalk construction going on in old Mazatlán currently, in preparation for a huge tourism convention taking place next April. We didn't have any issues with it, but it is something to be aware of. Next time we go to Mazatlán, we'll go for Carnaval, and we'll stay at the Melville again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria Canada

Nice stay in old Mazatlan

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Spent 2 nights at the Melville and loved it. Great location, well, excellent location. Amazing staff. And most importantly, very comfortable and quiet. Loved it and will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

cozy hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
nice historical hotel in down town where a lot is going on. not recommended if looking for a beach. rooms could be rustic to some...but colorful to others. avoid booking until all construction in down town is funished. tranportation could be difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great, if you know what you're getting

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, and atmosphere; You'll never have a more beautiful hotel room. The bird cages in the courtyard are a nice touch.
Cons: The shower was really horrible. I can live with lukewarm water in a Mexican summer, but 4 tiny jets of water isn't enough.
Location: Beach, bars, history, market, Plaza Machado; You're in the middle of everything in the Centro Historico.
These rooms are huge, and absolutely beautiful. The people are great and the location is perfect. It's a beautiful hotel as long as you're not expecting an American-style luxury resort. --However-- You'll read lots of reviews saying the street noise is really loud at night. Take those warnings seriously. A local bar had a band playing outside one night and we were treated to the entire thing, at full volume as though we were sitting right there. Ever tried to sleep at a concert? It was a good band and a nice bar but we wanted to go to bed. There was lots of construction (Summer 2017) and every morning at 6:00 someone parked a truck-sized compressor outside our window. It was so loud and sudden that I levitated out of bed every morning.
3 out of 5
by Lynn

Great hotel but bad construction!

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
We love this hotel and have stayed there many times but was totally unaware of the construction that is going on. Couldn't get a taxi around anywhere. I would recommend this hotel BUT definitely find out if there is still construction! We went in May of 2017,.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Centro Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, authentic Mexican feel to the hotel. Pleasant courtyard and balcony area. Access to hotel is secure.
Cons: Our room decor could have been brighter and freshened, but I think every room is different.
Location: Restaurants, entertainment, sights, beach, shopping.
We enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. The tranquil courtyard and wrap-around upstairs balcony make the hotel experience.
5 out of 5
by Lynn

Wonderful staff!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed there three years in a row and absolutely love it! The people are so great and nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great location - walking distance to everything!

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: Restaurant and/or lounge with drinks would havebeen nice.
We wanted an authentic Old Mazatlan experience and found it at the Melville.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Leap of faith

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: See above
We booked the hotel through Expedia, and had never been there before. It was perfect for our needs i.e. down town in the old historic district, with easy walking to the big market, great restaurants, the ocean etc. The staff were wonderful. and the room was totally satisfactory. We would not hesitate to cone back.