Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the historic district!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: It has character and comfort.
Cons: You can hear the dj on the roof at night.
Location: El Cardenal for breakfast,
This my 3rd time at Hotel Downtown.Excellent accommodations with amazing service! Make sure you visit El Cardenal restaurant for desayuno!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A Big WOW factor

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Interior and furnishings, a lot of space.
Cons: Lighting can be a bit dim....
Location: Central downtown in historical part, next to zocola and great shopping
Great welcome desk crew with tequila shots just to remind you that this is Mexico. My room was WOW very boutique with an actual key on a key chain! Yes so you don't feel your swiping into the building of work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Wonderful boutique hotel with great restaurants and shops. Central location is perfect for sightseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
No barhroom privacy. There is no door or separation from bathroom and bedroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was wonderful. Staff was incredibly friendly and attentive.
1 out of 5
by Aksel

Terrible Service and Fraudulent Bar Staff

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Despite the excellent location and cool design, we had a terrible experience at Downtown Hotel. The staff at the roof top bar were slow with terrible service level, and if this wasn't enough they tried to add drinks and items to the bill that we did not consume and they also changed the tip amounts on the bills after we had signed them. When we checked out it was clear that the handwriting of the added numbers were different and also that the amount was different from what I had written down. When we made the front desk aware of this they did not apologise immediately, but I had to explain this several times before the agreed to change the amount. The breakfast staff was also very unfriendly and didn't want to serve my mother the breakfast that was included in the room, but they tried to charge her for eating breakfast, so this was one more fight I had to have with the front desk at checkout. The staff was in general very unfriendly, so for instance they initially did not allow two of my Mexican friends to join us at the pool area, despite the pool area being far from crowded and despite the fact that we had booked 3 double rooms at the hotel. The only positive staff experience was with the doorman who helped us with our luggage and made sure that we were sent away properly. I was told that the hotel manager would contact me due to the above poor experience, but it has now been three days since check out, and still no calls or emails from him.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great design, great service. Too loud

Posted May 10, 2016
The hotel itself is designed very well. Modern and great restaurants. The service is great as well. However, very loud on the weekends. Beds are not comfortable and my room had mosquitoes. Air conditioner doesnt really work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

muy bien!

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
It was great