Ratings based on 1,190 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Pedro Cholula, Puebla, Mexico

nice hotel in historic quarter

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location: Most attractions of the historic district are within walking distance.
This is a modern hotel building located two blocks south of the Bellas Artes metro stop which one can use to go to the airport or bus station. There is a water tap of purified drinking water in the bathroom which is unusual for hotels in this price range. The room had a ceiling fan, new laminated "wood" flooring, a lock box, kleenex, lotion and shower cap as well as the usual soap and shampoo, and two hand towels along with bath towels and a bath mat. On the other hand the room was small, the flat screen tv was small and sat on the desk/dresser limiting space, and there was little room to set a suitcase if not unpacking and using the closet and drawers provided. Bedding was of the old type, the bed firm but ok, pillows flat. Internet was for each individual floor and worked well. When we stayed here on an earlier visit the room was much larger, so that seems to vary. Chinatown and the handicraft museum are just down the street on Independencia, coffee shops and local cafes south along Lopez.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to historic center

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great location and friendly staff makes this an easy choice. Definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Bellas Artes

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Excellent location, about a block away from Bellas Artes, three from Zocalo. Nice, quiet hotel with good beds and breakfast buffet. Do be aware that this hotel is not air conditioned but most nights the fan is sufficient. Good value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel in downtown, great food around

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Excelent, unfortunately no air conditioning, very good food, warm people.Marble bathroom! Beautiful, unbelievable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location nice public spaces

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Location excellent. Public spaces really nice. Cleaning staff great. Room could use updating but suitable. Wifi worked well. Price great. An occasional bug.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lawndale,CA

Mind over matter

Posted May 24, 2017
First and foremost if you go when Mexico hot season is i don't recommend the stay in this hotel. Your source of air conditioner is a ceiling fan not the business"if you know what I mean ". Staff is not very informative or friendly. The only thing good is the location and texi drivers.
5 out of 5
by Larry

Great Hotel in Great Location in Mexico City!

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with an absolutely GREAT location in/near the historical Mexico City. Close to the airport (less than $15 by taxi), and many other popular attractions. All you have to tell local people or the taxi drivers is say Hotel Marlowe and they can point you to it. So its a popular place to stay. Breakfast Buffet was better than I expected. Has the European meats and cheese, with eggs and bacon and great rolls. Coffee was even pretty good. Its actually in a real restaurant on their loft floor. Hotel staff were outstanding and went out of there way to help us and book an excursion to the nearby archeological sites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
REALLY small room. Bad Internet connection. No a/c
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
We feel the discomfort you had during your stay, we will try to give solution to the situations indicated. Atentamente Alejandra García Ventas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Lovely girl in the heart of Mexico City

Posted May 11, 2017
A few blocks to the Zocala. Surrounded by museums, restaurants, public transit, art museums...
5 out of 5
by Christine

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Marlowe was great - it's a nice hotel = great toiletries - I didn't need to unpack anything for my one night stay. Area was fine - lots of bars and restaurants around - staff were really nice. Would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was my room was right at the elevator so it was a bit annoying hearing the elevator all the time.