Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location..uncomfortable room

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very good location , close to the the lake and downtown Milwaukee. Walking distance to most of the good restaurants and entertainments. For those who wants to walk or run, the lake has a beautiful trail around it and its a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The room was very clean, but the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The AC was loud and didnt work good. It was very hard to fall asleep with the noise from the AC . Overall a very old and charming hotel that could do with some upgrade.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

It was a long night...Ugh.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The location is great. The parking lot is convenient, even if it is in questionable state of repair (like the hotel itself) The lobby is nice.
Cons: Too much for the 150 characters allowed here.
Let's just say it was a rough night. We were attracted by the location and price. Just because the building is on the National Register of Historic Places and has a fancy name does not make it a swanky hotel, not that we were expecting that. The whole hotel seems a little outdated and rough around the edges. It seems like it is patched just enough to keep it going. We noticed people doing laundry and "paying rent", so we suspected that it's more of a boarding house than a real hotel. Our pillows were small and hard, somewhat shaped like Chicklets. My wife woke up with a sore neck due to that. Even though it is September, the small window air conditioner growled like Hurricane Irma and never really kept the room comfortable. The mounting of it looked less than professional as well, with unpainted lumber framing it into the window. I actually found the bathroom somewhat charming as it still had the original 1920's fixtures and I like vintage things. I nearly tripped as the bathroom floor was raised from the rest of the room. Both I and the people I was traveling with for a convention found the guy at the front desk to be a bit rude. Next time I'll spend a little more but won't go back to the Astor Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Hotel overstated it's services (no bar/lounge restaurant was open but website said it was).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

OK hotel, close to the lake.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Hotel ok, close to the lake, close to downtown.
Got to hotel to check in, nobody in front of the counter. No microwave, no fridge, not a lot of good channels to choose from on the TV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Please don't post this. I have stayed at The Astor often. I love it there! The only issue I have is the smell on the elevator. It always smells like urine. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with a lot of charactor.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This hotel is s historical site. The rooms are pleasant with no frills. If interested in booking a room I would call them and not go though a internet service. You seem to get the cheapest rooms and in this case you need to upgrade to get a decent room. The hotel is old and the cheaper room is very very small and the a/c is very noisy. The king bed room is much much better. I would stay here again. Easy walk to lots of things. Beautiful neighbor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
terrible parking drove around trying to find parking spot to check in desk clerk was on the phone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Historic with minimal updates

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable.
Cons: The decor and facilities need updating.
Location: Very quiet area. We had difficulty finding a place to eat when we arrived on a Friday afternoon.
The hotel is an historic building, but the management/owners have chosen to do the least amount of work to get it to modern standards. The hallways and lobby are very dark and the bathrooms are very outdated. The room had a very noisy window air conditioner. When I asked the front desk staff about the history of the building all they said was it was built in the 1920's. That response didn't help to endear me to the history of the hotel in lieu of nicer accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs AR

a place to sleep and refresh

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Great location for our purpose.
Cons: Figure out a way for the drapes not to block the air conditioner.
Location: the location was great for Shank Hall show. There are several bars and restaurants that are convenient.
We were visiting Milwaukee with some friends for a night to see a show at Shank Hall. It was really convenient. The Irish bar across the street was a great place to hang out. This is an old historic place but was fairly nice. Our room was fine except that there was only a window air conditioner and the closed drapes didn't work well with it to keep us cool. I really have no major complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff was very friendly. The room was slightly small. The only complaint that I would have is that there is a coffee maker in the room however there was no cream or sugar to go with the coffee and on our second night after the room was cleaned the maid never replenish the coffee.