Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Well kept bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Staff and food were excellent! Very accommodating, friendly, and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dixon, IL

Great Experience

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: In addition to the comfortable rooms, the breakfasts could not be beat. Really good!
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Lots of things going on and access is easy. Variety of entertainment, recreation and restaurants.
My wife and I had a refreshingly restful few days. The rooms were attractive and comfortable. The hostess behaved graciously and catered to our interests. Just a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago,IL

Cozy historical bed and breakfast

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the beautiful and artful reproduction to the era of this mansion. The proprietors were friendly and efficient.
Location: As indicated an area of regentrification, with restaurants 1-2 miles from this residence.
Upon arriving we were greeted by the proprietors quickly registered and acquainted with this beautiful historical home. We enjoyed the unique historical and careful reproduction of the homes personality. The room was whimsical and comfortable. You must be aware that the bathroom is shared with the adjacent room. The breakfast was delicious with four original choices to choose from. It is important to uunderstand that this beautifully restored home is in area of regentrification. While the area may be questionable we felt safe on the property with our car off street.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

TERRIBLE NEIGHBORHOOD!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Move it to a safe neighborhood.
Location: It is three miles from Milwaukee's lakefront and the main reason why I booked it. Too bad it is an unsafe area.
I booked this trip last minute and learned my lesson the hard way that it is important to read reviews prior to booking. I saw the website which displayed cute and quaint rooms. When I arrived the next day, the neighborhood in which the Mansion was located was very run down and reminded me of the rough parts of Chicago in which I avoid. I was given a tour of the place and the room that I was given did not appear to be one from the website. I could bypass that but when I went outside to wait for an Uber , I was approached by two undesirable men who were inviting me in their truck. I quickly removed myself from the situation by walking to the front of the property. When the Uber driver arrived, I began asking questions of where I was staying and he indicated as long as I was in a hotel and that there was security, I was fine. I told him it was a residence. He advised me that it would not be safe for a female to return solo after Summer Fest. I was afraid at that point so I asked him to return to the property where I returned the key and retrieved my vehicle to leave. I was there less than an hour from check in until leaving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Laura Sue, Hotel Management
Perception is Everything. We are sorry that you had this incident on the street which could have happened anywhere. You chose not to tell us about. This does not allow us to help in anyway. We respect your perception. But there were 6 other rooms that night that did not have the same Perception as you. As well as all the other wonderful guests who have stayed with us in the past and many returning guests too. Fortunately, they do not feel the same way that you do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Very nice bed and breakfast. The rooms were comfortable, the food was great, and the staff were very kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to where we needed to be

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Everything.....
Location: We were close to everywhere we needed to be, especially Miller Park for the Brewer game.
The room was pretty and very comfortable, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was delicious! The owners were so friendly and took pride in their mansion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Laura Sue, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. Our goal in our small business to to make our guests comfortable and relaxed during their stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great experience staying in a mansion.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts were amazing, nice thick towels, slept great, had everything we needed. It was nice to have off street parking.
Cons: More empty space on top of dressers, etc to put our stuff - every B & B has the same issue!
Location: Took a walk around the historic Concordia neighborhood every morning. Shriners Temple is just a block away.Churches nearby if so inclined to attend.
We were lucky to get a room as two MKE universities had graduations on the same day. The Schuster mansion popped up with one room left so we took it. The only room left was on the third floor with a shared bathroom. We were a little concerned about the shared bath but it worked out OK. Laura had a few "housekeeping" items to share which was perfectly fine. We took a walk each morning around the Concordia neighborhood which has numerous beautiful buildings and houses, felt perfectly safe. We had off street parking and the breakfasts were fantastic! We did use "Uber" a lot which was great. We didn't spent a lot of time at the inn because we were busy with graduation activities and filled in other free time with a few side trips.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Bruno Best B & B's

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderfully appointed and big comfy suite. Delicious breakfasts and Laura Sue's cookies are a MUST EAT! Our hosts were so accommodating and we had hysterical conversations about MANY subjects. A very nice blend of the past with modern facilities. Next trip we will experience the HIGH AND LOW TEA. (We now know the difference!) Do yourselves a favor and book this B&B!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Ever think about staying in an old mansion? Then this might be the place for you. the couple who own this place have restored a historic mansion and made it into a bed and breakfast. My room had a Texas cowboy theme. I am not much on themed rooms, and there were lots of cowboy knickknacks in the room. The Inn advertises Direct TV but most of the channels are channels that you could get for free. the are also plenty of channels that have one big infomercial after another. So if that bothers you bring your Kindle fire r some DVDs. The breakfast was nice. I have no complaints there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: I was able to choose my time for breakfast, the selections were wonderful and the portions were larger that I expected. You won't leave hungry
Location: The mansion is just west of Marquette's campus so the drive is easy. You're not caught up in the crowd. I booked another stay for graduation in May!
I felt comfortable and welcome. I enjoyed talking with the staff who were pleasant and accommodating. The food was excellent. They have their own lot where you can leave your car so it's not on the street so you don't worry about parking tickets!