Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historical beauty with some modern touches

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Decor, spaciousness of the room, friendly staff, breakfast, availability of snacks and beverages.
Cons: A deep clean could be used. Everything was clean on the surface- bathroom, toilets, floors, etc. But some repairs and cleaning could be done.
Location: The location is in the middle of a neighborhood. Many attractions a short drive away.
The friendly innkeeper met us and shared some of the history of the home. Our room was a two room suite with a bathroom and Jacuzzi tub. It was very spacious and filled with antiques. The breakfast was delicious. The home does show it's age and could use some sprucing up. TV, Direct TV and DVD player in our room with many movies to choose from. Around midnight it became very loud. Not sure if people were arriving home or if the theater had let out. The innkeepers were very attentive. Overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brookfield, Il

First time at a bed and breakfast

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We truely enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, historical little gem. So much beauty and craftsmenship in woodwork and decor. Loved it.
5 out of 5
by William

Al Capones Getaway

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful well preserved mansion with colorful history. Proprietor upon arrival gave us full history of rooms. Amenities included wine and beer coffee and tea with sweets available cookies. Room on 3rd door with full size couples jucuzzi tub. Room was clean and had full walk I shower could easily accommodate my wife and me. Breakfast include was very nice with eggs bacon yorgurt and fruit. Family environment with other guests in spacious dining room.
5 out of 5
by Peter

A Hidden 4 Star in the Rough

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
It's a great B&B in a not-so-great neighborhood. The suite we stayed in was well-appointed with a jetted tub plus a separate shower. It had a lot of old world charm and the best breakfast ever! The proprietor offers complimentary drinks (wine, beer, soda) to guests which is awesome and gives a fascinating tour of the building. I was leery about leaving my car in the parking lot given the condition of the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
by melissa

Delightful!

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely the best b&b around. Every room is different so you can keep coming back for more! The hospitality and homemade breakfast in the AM make it special. Love the new artwork for sale around the mansion. We will be back!!
5 out of 5
by Rosemary

Wonderful

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
AMAZING, beautiful room with a jet tub that fit both of us easily ❤ Wonderful homemade breakfast at a time of our choosing, complimentary wine, cookies and other treats. Quiet and cozy. Absolutely gorgeous mansion and woodwork with really interesting history. Just a wonderful stay overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Very pleased with the Staff & the room! Thoroughly enjoyed the historical value of the Mansion.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hospitality and History

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely time here. Tom and Julie are very hospitable and made us feel very welcome. It was like staying with family rather than being guests. We are vegans and the cook Tom and Julie bith made sure we had a vegan friendly breakfast to eat. They gave us a tour of the building and gave us some history which was very neat. We will definitely be going back again and recommending them to friends and family looking for a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Birthday Gift to my Boyfriend

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The innkeepers were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
Location: We went to the Milwaukee Art Museum, the third ward and to the Milwaukee market.
This a give to my boyfriend. We really had a great time. Enjoyed the food. Was close to things that we wanted to visit. We would definitely go back again.