Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great location in Milwaukee

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location, bed, restaurant
Cons: Parking included in room rate, information in the room regarding hotel amenities, TV stations, etc.
Location: Great location near the park and several museums
Comfy room and we checked in waaaaay early with no issues. Nicely updated and very comfortable bed and well stocked kitchen as far as utensils. However, there was no info in the room about where to get ice or if there were any building amentities. Parking is expensive for uncovered parking. No lotion in bathroom among the tea tree products. The restaurant is lovely, good food and normal pricing. The weather was beautiful so we were able to dine on the patio...just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

historic hotel in great location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
historic hotel within easybwalkkng distance of Discovery World, Summerfest grounds. Friendly staff and rooms with comfort and character
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and well kept rooms

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Clean, Very nice Lobby, Small kitchen in the room.
Cons: The room has two huge closets (one almost as big as the bathroom). They could use that space for the kitchen or put something more functional there.
Location: Excellent, near parks, downtown, the river, the lake, within walking distance to many bars and restaurants, and still be in quiet and safe street.
Close to downtown and the shore parks. The small kitchen in the room, makes it really convenient if you want to have a quick breakfast or pack some food.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Wonderful, classic hotel in the perfect location

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
I was first put into a room I did not request. 2 double beds. the desk staff told me they could not move me for the entire 19 days of my stay. One call to Larry the property manager and I had a very nice room with a king bed, that had been recently remodeled. I was very impressed with Larry who met my every need. I would stay at the Knickerbocker again! Location is fantastic and the rooms are great for the cost. The restaurant, on the premises, is outstanding, especially for breakfast. House keeping did a fantastic job providing clean towels, sheets and a clean room. I rate this hotel very high. they also have a laundry available that came in very handy after a 19 day stay! Tokens and detergent are available at the front desk.
2 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by robert

Knickerbocker Hotel Manager Nightmare

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
There is no guest services after 5:00 (say, if you need extra towels). Everything is handled by the front desk clerk. The hallways are dark and dingy. The last night of our 3 night stay, at 3:30 a.m., the smoke detector in our room kept going off. Finally they sent someone to disarm it. The battery was low. I am a light sleeper and couldn't get back to sleep. The next morning I asked the manager, Larry, for some accommodation on the price for the last night: I was exhausted after the smoke detector incident and didn't get the only real thing I want at a hotel: a good night's sleep. Larry the manager was rude, would take no responsibility and after effectively telling me to "F off," had the nerve to place his hand on my shoulder and smile. Suffice it to say I will never stay at the Knickerbocker again. I wouldn't have complained about a disturbance over which the hotel had no control, like a noisy garbage truck, or loud guests. This disturbance was clearly the hotel's fault for not timely and routinely changing out smoke detector batteries in the guests' rooms.
4 out of 5
by melissa

One night stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for the night after watching the Bucks game. The hotel is beautiful, the check in was fast. You get an actual key to your room. Overall we had a decent stay EXCEPT! There was no hot water it barely got warm, the WiFi did not connect in the room at all...there was also someone else ahead of us complaining of the WiFi when we checked in. And then we were right next to the elevator and had to listen to it go up and down all night sounded like someone sliding a chair across a room all night long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel - shame about the staff

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Building and location
Cons: See review - staff.
The hotel is beautiful and the room more than adequate. However, when I phoned to add a second guest to my reservation, staff were offhand and when I enquired if it were possible to bring a pet they were almost hostile. I was happy to make other arrangements for the dog, but what was baffling, in addition to the unnecessarily rude response, was that the next morning a dog was walked out of the Knickerbocker; it seems rules are applied inconsistently. Moreover, generally, the staff's behaviour was not in accordance with the grandeur of the building and is the sole reason I find myself unable to recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lovely hotel near the museums

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The Kickerbocker on the Lake is a delightfully old school hotel. The room are reasonably spacious and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of good restaurants, the lake, and Milwaukee's fine museums. I would definitely recommend the Knickerbocker and would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Rooms have definitely been updated since other reviews. Still an old building (that's part of the charm). Close to a lot of places. Staff was great.