Ratings based on 1,993 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Golfing at Erin Hills

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Beds are great
Cons: Parking structure
Came into town to golf Erin Hills, about 30 minutes outside of town. I'll stay at the Pfister again, old classic hotel. But kept up and old is character in this case. Parking structure and check out of the structure is kind of unique?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st paul mn

Best place to stay in Milwaukee!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
I've been coming to the pfister for 8 or 9 yrs now, and am never disappointed! Top notch service from every department, particularly the bellman and cafe staff during the last stay. Thank you for making our stay a great one again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I've never stayed at a hotel so nice with the staff being even more so... I would love to stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long beach IN

In business district

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Towerbathrooms were nice.
Cons: It was 90 when we were there and the AC did not work adequately. Housekeeping did not clean glasses/replace used glasses. Not enough towels.
Location: There were restaurants for dinner but otherwise there was not much to do downtown. The mall was almost vacant of stores. Walkable to summer fest.
Historical part of hotel needs work! Bathrooms ridiculously small. We switched to a tower room which was better but housekeeping was not impressive. The 30$ a day for the "club" on the 23 floor was not worth it. The quality of breakfast was poor. Snacks were so/so. You could get your money worth if you want to stock up on free pop, water and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashua, NH

Delightful!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: All of it - staff, comfort of room, and location.
Cons: n/a
Location: It is downtown Milwaukee, and walking distance to most things there.
This is a grand hotel from yesteryear, and the elegance has been maintained in all ways, but they treat you, as you would anticipate in one of those former days, too. From the moment you walked in, you were treated as a guest. Explanations at check-in were wonderful, parking in the back was easy. Bringing luggage upstairs, a bellman who was going up, gave us the elevator so we wouldn't have to wait, and that was not unusual. We went to Mader's for dinner and the directions were to go west, finding someone to ask questions of was easy . . . such as "which way is west?" The suite was lovely with its own sitting room. For an older hotel, it had surprisingly enough outlets for charging the electronics of a modern world. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the air filter was not that loud. It was so quiet, you couldn't hear the rain outside. Breakfast was marvelous and made to order, including filling a thermos for later enjoyment on the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL - GREAT LOCATION!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I have never written a review before - but will for the Pfister! I am SO very picky about my hotel - to me it makes or breaks the trip. If you want a beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and great location, stay here. The rooms are older, so if you like modern, stay at the Marriott down the street. The area has lots of restaurants, walking distance to the lake, River Walk and local market. I had never stayed in Milwaukee before - and when I go back I will only stay here! IF you stay, they had a $30 per room charge if you wanted to sit up at the top floor for evening hors d'oeuvres (actually more like a meal), and drinks and then a full hot breakfast - per room! For my family of 4, this was the best deal!!! The view and food were amazing!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Awesome hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Awesome hotel very attentive staff. I would recommend the club level upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

Great little getaway

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Playing tourist in our home city for a night. Great view from the bar/lounge and close to good dining/drinking options. Also walkable to Summerfest grounds. Lovely historic property with character; would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Great hotel, staff, and location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Felt welcome as soon as we walked in. The atmosphere is classic elegance meets downtown Milwaukee. Rooms were comfortable and we didn't want to leave. Will definitely be back for our fourth stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Close to Summerfest

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The architecture of the building inside and out.
Cons: Nothing specific, and although I don't think I'm fussy, this hotel was just average.
Location: Convenient to Summerfest and anything else that you may have to do downtown.
Hotel is walking distance to Summerfest so it served our purpose. We stayed a previous year and were nore impressed with the room. This year, the room was smaller and in an older section of the hotel. Nothing memorable, especially considering the price.