Ratings based on 2,590 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Good pricing and convenient for 1 night stay. In downtown montreal close to shops and train Station
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous , Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our property is indeed ideally located close to every attractions & shopping areas in Montreal. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, Alexandre Vergnes Front Office Supervisor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Hotel is okay. Not understanding of mistakes.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Simple. Clean. Kleenex box more than half used.
Cons: Rigid policies can be a bit more flexible.
Location: Downtown. Well-known, friendly Smoked meat restaurant really close.
I've stayed at this hotel quite a few times. It was a superb hotel and is very affordable with its location right in downtown Montreal. However, they were rigid with their nonrefundable policies with the whole "no exceptions". My boyfriend and I had a miscommunication and booked the same hotel for the night. I called 10 minutes after I booked and found out we had both booked the same hotel for the same night. I called the third-party booking help line and explained the situation and gave her my boyfriend's name and confirmation number (in case they thought I was making up a story). She called the hotel and talked to the supervisor, and just kept repeating "I'm sorry ma'am. There's nothing we can do. It is their policy." *sigh* So very not understanding of them of a simple mistake. Do they really have to cheat us this way? I wasn't even wanting a full refund, but perhaps a 50% of your next stay to retain their customers. Last time I stay with this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Lina , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry to read that you have encountered issues with the Expedia prepaid rates and their policies. However some of the issue you raised would benefit from a little more details & we would be most appreciative if you were willing to contact us in order to help us understand the situation better, since we do not seems to have any record concerning the issue encountered. Hopefully your feedback can help us improve the experience of our guests. Sincerely, Alexandre Front Office Supervisor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

We enjoyed our one night stay

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Staff
Cons: Carpeting/ Flooring
Location: Ideal Location, right next to restaurants, shopping, metro, etc.
We stayed here for one night while travelling, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean and fairly modern. Our only real complaint was that the shower had poor water pressure and the water was very cold/did not heat up. It was worth the price we paid for it so overall we would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Amélie - Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Mel, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us & with the Expedia community. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience on this trip and would be interested in learning more about your experience. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Best Western Europa on Drummond Street

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Location: Shopping on St.Catherine street, McGill University, Bell Centre, Eaton Centre, Train Station are all well within comfortable walking distance
We had a perfect stay just before school started up again. This is the second time we have stayed here, during the same time of the year. The location is excellent, especially for all the downtown shopping, We walked everywhere. The room and beds are clean and comfortable. Our stay was restful, efficient and comfortable. It's not a fancy place but it is definitely the kind of place you wouldn't hesitate to rest your head. Parking is 28.75 overnight, don't let the booth attendant tell you otherwise. The reception was VERY friendly and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, On behalf our entire team, thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your very positive experience. We were absolutely delighted to read that your experience with us left such an amazing impression and do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Europa. Thank you once again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Alexandre Vergnes Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lyndhurst, ON.

Centralized Hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Great rooms Great price Great staff
Cons: Have vending machines on the floors that sell snakes for late night.
Location: Walk out the main door look to your right and you can see the Bell Center.
This is a great hotel to stay in if you want to be near the Bell Center, shopping and tons of great restaurants. The price is much lower than almost all hotels in the area and the rooms are just as nice or better. I will be staying here my next visit to Montreal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us . We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Montreal as well as our convenient location & services. We will be honored to welcome you again on your next visit to Montreal. Best regards, Alexandre Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good prices

Posted Jan 8, 2018
I met up with a few people from the cleaning staff and they were pretty rude and unfriendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Montreal with us. However the issue you raised would benefit from a little more details & we would be most appreciative if you were willing to contact us in order to help us understand the situation better. Sincerely, Alexandre Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Clean but ...

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Room was clean BUT I found previous guests sock, AND, AND a USED CONDOM on the floor !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear J, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us appears to have been less than ideal. Some of the issue you raised would benefit from a little more details & we would be most appreciative if you were willing to contact us in order to help us understand the situation better. Hopefully your feedback can help us improve the experience of our guests. Sincerely, Alexandre Front Office Supervisor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Room was very small. Hotel was clean, very modern but very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We are sorry to read that our hotel facilities haven't met your expectations . Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Alexandre Front Office Supervisor Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sebago, me usa

Trouble checking in.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
One problem my fault, an other theirs. I bought a room through Expedia for my daughter who was stuck in Montreal due to storm. I mistakenly put my name for guest. Called Expedia. Very nice person fixed it. The hotel (best western, downtown) would not let my daughter in without a deposit for potential damages. I haven!t needed to do this with all the other rooms I've bought through Expedia. Not happy about that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Brent, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us & with the Expedia community. We are sorry to hear about the issue encountered by your daughter upon her check-in. However for security reasons and guests safety the information provided upon booking have to match with those provided upon check-in, in order to give access to the room. Regarding your concern about the deposit claimed by the hotel upon check-in, our hotel policies are mentioned on Expedia in the category hotel policies where it is written ``fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service``. We are sorry for the inconvenience it has caused you. I will stay at your disposal for any assistance or information you may need. Best regards, Alexandre Front Office Supervisor
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Pictures are misleading

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The online pictures are very misleading! Once checked in, we felt like we were literally in a basement somewhere. There was 1 small window in the corner of the room next to the bed, looking out onto an alleyway. The floor was a laminate wood floor and it was peeling up in many areas. Bathroom was basic as you'd expect. The desk and chair were dirty, even the housekeeping card left on the bed was dirty and written all over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Alexandre, Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We are sorry to read that our hotel facilities haven't met your expectations . I greatly appreciate your comments about the laminate wood floor that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing severals upgrades to the property within the next couple of months. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. Sincerely, Alexandre Vergnes Front Office Supervisor Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa