Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Close to downtown area and not too far from old town. The only issue I had was the sound from the pipes/bathroom from neighboring rooms could be heard, but it wasn't too bad.
3 out of 5
by vladimir

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, the hotel is in the heritage building in delapidated state.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Beautiful, quiet little hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was beautiful. They were under renovations but still made us feel welcome. We were made aware of renovations ahead of time and they only occurred during business hours. We were able to obtain a parking spot but called the night before to reserve it. Room was nice. Bed was comfortable. It's a great location. Only took us 10 minutes to bell centre. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room, cleanliness.
Cons: The ceiling had some cracks in it but the room was still great.
Location: Its downtown so you got restaurants and shops all nearby.
The hotel was right in the middle of downtown so it was walking distance from almost everything or just a quick jump to catch a subway to old Montreal. Weekend parking is free if you can grab a spot it can be hard as there are a lot of residential building in the area. If you plan on using the hotel's parking make sure you call ahead and book it in advance. the parking is pretty competitive to the other parking lots in the area. The included breakfast is toast, regular drinks and fruits, but that is pretty standard for a continental breakfast. Staff was great and helpful to any questions we had, and the room was very nice and comfortable when we needed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wash DC

Great location for a not so expensive hotel!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Location, comfortable room, and price
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Great restaurants, shopping, and the subway
We loved our stay at Hotel Ambrose in Montreal. For touring the city, it was a great location with a very comfortable room. There were a number of fun restaurants within a short distance. Also, most of the downtown area is near this hotel. A taxi stand is right outside, and the subway is a short walk 5 min walk. The staff was very helpful in getting acquainted with the city. It is not a big hotel. The makeup is based off old apartments that were converted in to a hotel. There was no elevator, so be advised if you require that in your stay. The breakfast was ok, and there are coffee shops nearby if you want to forgo the hotel option. There is free wifi, but the bandwidth was marginal. That said, it was just right for us to enjoy Montreal over a long weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location in century old building.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This was a real find. Beautiful century old building on a quiet side street only a block from the subway. The staff were friendly and helpful and our was room spotless. The bathroom looked as if it had just been renovated. There are also 4 parking stops under cover behind the building, which is good because street parking in Montreal is very difficult to find. The light breakfast was also very good. We will certainly return on our next stay to this vibrant city. John and Judy: Ottawa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

10/10 would come here again

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great little boutique hotel right by the mount. Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel room as described. Very comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was nothing fancy (cereal, toast, fruit) but sufficient. Very walkable location. 10/10 Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very cute quaint hotel. Right downtown a couple blocks from shopping and museums.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

I really liked my stay

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Location: Downhill museums, galleries, shops and restaurants. For example, Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Reubens, McGill University, Simmons, Barbie Expo, etc.
I went to Montreal for a few days in the wintertime and I stayed at Hotel Ambrose. I found my room to be very comfortable and warm. I watched a lot of TV in front of a large bay window, drinking complementary tea from the cafe. The staff was very friendly, fluent in English and are very engaged when you start conversations with them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels