Ratings based on 4,932 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

nice hotel, great location

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: can't think of anything.
Location: next to Peel, St., near subway, near McGill, Sherbrooke St., St. Catherine St., lots of restaurants
I was there on a two-day business trip. Great location, near everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakvulle

Nice hotel. Very central

Posted Oct 31, 2017
A nice clean hotel with friendly staff. Close to McGill and other attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London ON

Another solo trip to Montreal ♥️

Posted Oct 29, 2017
My third trip in less than 1 year to this beautiful, friendly city! This is a great place for those who love to wander on foot and explore. Perfect for foodies as well - you must try the European pastry shops on Blvd St. Laurent! Cannot wait to be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna, bc

Nice hotel in the centre of Montreal

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Clean, convenient location, great best, tons of resteraunts
Cons: Door locks
Great location. Walked everywhere from here except to Olympic village. Metro close by and easy to use. Beds were wonderful. We had a view facing Mount Royal. Nice to have a little kitchenette. Very spacious. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
At the heart of the city, location is optimal (close to restaurants, universities and businesses)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Posted Oct 21, 2017
OK. Could use a refresh, bit tired. Slow elevators. Breakfast buffet only ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location! Excellent amenities

Posted Oct 20, 2017
I travelled with my teenage son to see McGill University. To our pleasant surprise, the hotel is opposite the University but also is right in downtown Montreal, so, everything was in walking distance: the Underground City, shopping, restaurants and even the coach headquarters for our tour of Montreal. ( Strongly recommend Reubens that is a 5 minute walk, to have superb meals inc Montreal's famed smoked meat sandwiches and pancake breakfasts) What I also appreciated is the hotel room; ours had 2 very comfortable queen sized beds. The bathroom is provided with LOTS of towels and usual toiletries, two bathrobes. A surprising little feature of the room was the kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, toaster, plates and cutlery. We weren't planning to eat in the room but it was lovely to wake up (especially as we were waking up at 5am in the morning due to time difference with London, UK!) and make your own coffee in the room. As my son said, it seemed that our stay revolved around our great and convenient hotel !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in time is too late in the day

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Most hotels let you check in by 2pm. A 4pm checkin is ridiculous if you've been travelling or wandering the city ahead of time. The front desk clerk pointed out that we were early for arriving at 2pm and wondered if we had friends staying in the hotel. I assume she thought we could stay in their room before ours was ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice to be in the city near everything

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Room was quiet. Had a view of Mont Royal and the street below
Cons: The old fashioned keys are pretty bulky and the door tended to stay ajar unless it was almost slammed. It's time to update the entry system
Location: Close to shopping and restaurants. Close to Metro, easy to get around
Stayed for 2 nights at the end of a week long trip. Nice to have a refrigerator and microwave so we could eat our leftovers 1 night. Bed was very comfortable. Older facility but very clean and bright. Elevators were quick, never had to wait long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Perfection

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Every detail of a weekend with friends at the Cantlie was perfect. Really. The mgr let me into the room early when i arrived harried from a hard week. The room was perfectly clean and perfectly appointed with every convenience, including a kitchenette and oodles of fluffy white towels. The restaurant can compete with any in the neighborhood whether you arelooking for a quick hamburger or a lovely romantic meal. Veggies cooked to al dente perfection. Nice bar atmosphere for a nightcap. I could go on and on about details but in the end, it is the staff, from desk mgr to cleaners, who are consistently helpful, polite, snd friendly. The hotel makes the holiday.