Ratings based on 3,911 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Good hotel in a good location.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
This was a good hotel with a spacious room and very friendly and helpful staff. It provided great access to Montreal either in terms of walking or nearby metro routes. Our room was cleaned everyday to a high standard, paticlarly useful as the weather meant snow/grit/slush was often dragged back into the room. The kitchenette in our room was great for a small family, however, compared to the rest of the room it was dated and worn with some old appliances.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Worst experience in Montreal

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Absolute worst experience from start to end in this hotel. On the morning of January thirtieth 2017, I called the hotel prior to arrival to inquire about valet parking. I was advised that there will be valet parking when I arrive in the evening. When I got to the front desk I asked female the supervisor about valet and where to go. She “called” valet and told me they had no room for my SUV and I was to park two blocks down. I was clearly upset, on the verge of tears. I was forced to sign a no-party waiver, one of the conditions was no music. I went out to my car to look for parking. After 20 minutes of driving around I saw the sign for “Hotel Le Cantlie Valet Parking”, I decided to take my chance. The valet boys took my car and gave me a valet ticket. They were so nice and told me I have unlimited in and out privileges. I was absolutely appalled at the fact the “supervisor” gave me the run around. Once we got into the hotel room, I noticed that the floors were dirty and there were spill stains all over the table and lamp. The sheets were not clean and had black fluff all over them. The next day, the cleaning ladies did not even come into the unit to clean the bathroom or change the sheets. Just an absolute horrible stay and I would never ever recommend anyone I know to go there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fast and courteous checkin

Posted Jan 6, 2018
2nd time staying at this hotel ! Love staff very polite and professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Character, customer service and location.
Hotel was centrally located, close to everything including the Metro. Front desk staff very helpful and pleasant to deal with - happily spoke French and English. Restaurant was rich with character and our waiter made us laugh and feel welcome. Room was very clean and beds were comfortable. Overall a very nice experience. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: Renovate rooms to at least a mid-2000 level if not modern day.
Location: Close access to metro and tunnel system
Living in the 80s, needs renovation instead of just new furniture and paint. Still uses physical keys for doors, the door didn't latch properly and everytime it was opened, the DND sign fell off. Towel rack in bathroom was physically inside the bathtub/shower at head level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
A few stains on the comforter on the bed, but overall it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Very nice hotel, clean and comfy. As the other reviews suggested, it really is a great location! Very accessible to key points to visit in Montreal. The beds were super comfy, the room was spacious. My friends and I enjoyed our stay at Le Cantlie Hotel. Would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge

Has potential to be outstanding.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Terrible customer service upon check in. Was hassled to pay extra fees, not accomdating at all. Hotel was in a great location and very clean and upscale. Bartender/Server at restaurant Zhivko (spelled wrong) was amazing and made the stay much better after receiving such terrible service from check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washigton

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Location was great closed to everywhere and you could just walk from the hotel. Lots of restaurants around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Fine facility in downtown Montreal

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Great location, comfortable room and attentive staff.