Ratings based on 863 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Misleading description, dirty hotel, awful service

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. Tear the whole place down and build something that actually resembles a hotel.
Misleading description: We were shocked to arrive and find out that there was no bathroom in our "double bed standard room" - Instead, there were three communal washrooms for all the rooms on a floor (i.e. thirty to forty people sharing three bathrooms) - could not believe it! This is not a hostel, or some dorm room, it is supposedly a hotel. I think the general expectation is to have a bed, sink, toilet and shower. Dirty hotel: So if you're lucky enough to actually get access to one of these communal washrooms, you will be delighted to find cockroaches! Not to mention holes in the walls and ceilings, mould and dirt around all the fixtures, incredibly low ceilings, and tiny old showers. Awful service: The best part is when we raised the above concerns with the hotel staff, they blamed us for not reading the description and offered no solution. Other things to note: -There is no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage up and down stairs yourself -The continental breakfast is just stale croissants and a coffee pot, don't bother
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: A few more English language TV stations available would be nice. I found only 2. Minor thing tho, not there to watch TV.
Very nice place, great location, and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Location

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Great location. Central to everywhere. About a 15 minute walk to the center of Old Montreal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newmarket

Dump.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Dirty. Run down. Bed terrible. Mr shah at the desk is rude. Parking nearby was $70 for 2 days. We had to walk up 3 flights with our luggage. Do not do shared bathroom. Always full. Location great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Surprisingly nice hotel, but bed bug issue

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Walking distance from bus station, metro (subway) and extremely close to festival venues. A bit of a hike to the Bell Centre.
Cons: Training staff on identifying evidence of bed bugs would help, as would room checks. It's easy to spot them if you know what to look for.
From the outside, you won't expect much from this hotel, but once you navigate the stairs, the hotel is actually quite nice. It's very similar to many 2 star hotels I've stayed in while travelling through Europe - lots of stairs, no elevator, with the rooms spread out around the building. It's extremely close to the main festival area, on a pedestrian-only street (parking seems to be non-existent, but I didn't have a car, so can't be sure about availability around the hotel). The room I had was on the 2nd floor & faced the "street", and with the air conditioning on, I couldn't hear anything, so that was a nice surprise. I noticed a lot of reviews that indicated they had a shared bathroom, but my room/bathroom were within my unit. I supposed I may have paid a bit more for that. Breakfast is offered as an add on, and it's your standard cold breakfast (croissants, cereal, breads, etc) but for $2 you can't go wrong. Unfortunately, my trip was marred by the fact that the room had bed bugs. Not always the hotel's fault, as they can easily travel from one location to another by hitchhiking with someone. I advised the hotel, and hopefully they will bring in an exterminator. The ratings I've given are taking the bed bugs into account. Without them, the room cleanliness and room comfort would have been 3's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

The location is the best part

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Amazing location in proximity to everything, Room was clean and decorated well. Nice bathrooms. Great location next to all the cities night life Cons: breakfast was typical contenental but a bit too sugary for my liking. Mattress made too much noise
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
This hotel is very central, easy to get everywhere. The room was fine, but the bed was not very comfortable. The front desk staff was not helpful. We could barely hear the girl when we first got there and had to made her repeat everything, and even then, we had to guest what she was saying. In the evening, it was raining and we asked the man at the front desk where was the closest cinema and he said there none close by, which I thought was strange. We googled it, and there was one 6 minute walk away! Next time, I'm in Montreal, I will try another place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

No lift lots of steps to lobby

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Hotel is above a sex shop in the Latin Quarter. It is well located for the night life. Lack of a lift and many stairs to carry bags was a major disadvantage. Otherwise a reasonable budget hotel for strong fit people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VT

Montreal Jazz festival

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: Free coffee
Location: Located next to many concert venues and restaurants in a very safe area.
It was a great place to stay at a lively time in Montreal. The hotel was very close to the performances we wanted to attend, and the price was extremely competitive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, kitschy renovated style, super

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Super clean with best staff experienced to date. Breakfast room is bright and airy, with continual provisioning. You have to like stairs, shared washroom facilities, togetherness and community spirit.