Ratings based on 612 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

La Tour Centre Ville

Posted Feb 23, 2011 on Hotels
It was the worst hotels i have ever stayed at. The service was very pathetic. The receptionist were very rude and didn't seem like they like helping there customers. Also the parking was a 5 minute walk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Not worth it

Posted Feb 17, 2011
It is an apartment building turned into a hotel. Had 3 different rooms in one night and ALL room smell strongly of stale smoke. So much so that we needed air freshener to spray the rooms. First hotel room had a hole in the bathroom wall like someone punched it and there was shards and tiny slivers of glass all over the couch below the painting on the wall. I moved to the couch to find that the entire glass pane was shattered and hiding behind the couch. Second room they gave us smelled worse than the first, so we asked for another room. Third room wasn't as bad, however the tv decided to randomly not work and the furniture smelled strongly of stale cigarette smoke. For $10 more a night I could have stayed at the Travelodge just up the street. I will say that the hotel concierge was very accommodating and was very polite during our 3 moves in one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plattsburgh, NY

Hotel Le Tour, Montreal Canada

Posted Feb 16, 2011 on Hotels
As they usually say "you get what you pay for". This was inexpensive by comparison but an old hotel, with old emenities, furniture, facilities, etc. The room was cleaned daily but we were surprised at how stained the carpets were. This made a poor impression. Since we used the room very little due to work requirements it was not an inconvenience, just an eye sore.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

La Tour Centre Ville for Business travelers

Posted Feb 3, 2011 on Hotels
Location: in the middle of downtown with all means of transportation available. Many things at a walking distance: Subway stations within 5-10, Central Station 10 minutes. Close to Old Montreal, St Catherine St and many galleries and small restaurants. Room: lots of space for one person. Kitchenette with microwave oven, stove and refrigerator are very convenient if staying more than 2 days or with friends or family. Furniture looks old and needs maintenance. Hotel will benefit from new mattresses. Neutral odor in the room. Old tube TV. WiFi Internet works fine although slow at times. Bathroom: would benefit from renovation and more light. Towels are provided but you can tell they have a lot of mileage. Additional comments: room is cleaned on a daily basis and there are 2 small restaurants on site that might end up being very convenient. Recommendation: Good for short stays, especially if you are doing business downtown or if you are travelling by train. Kitchenette may help you save money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

A central location with a low price

Posted Feb 1, 2011
This was a trip a little difficult to arrange as it was for my daughter and grand children who did not have credit cards. It required me to FAX them a copy of my credit card with authorization to use if necessary. They were truly obliging and responded very quickly to my inquiries. I was very impressed with their professionalism and courtesy. On their return my family highly recommended the hotel for further visits and I will use this facility on my next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location!

Posted Jan 28, 2011
I am still trying to figure out why the rates at this hotel were so cheap! I will be staying here again the next time I'm in Montreal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The first time was definitely the last

Posted Jan 27, 2011
When I got to the hotel I asked to give a $100 security deposit that I had no idea of prior to checking in. Next, I asked where I should park and was directed to a parking lot that was impossible to find and that I never found. I ended up parking in a random lot. All of the furniture is extremely dated and there where stains on the walls and ceilings. Our toliet overflowed and when we called down to the front desk for someone to come up and fix it they said they had no one that could do so. We were left to clean up the water ourselves.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamstowm, VT

Rude Staff

Posted Jan 27, 2011 on Hotels
I took my 2 sons Montreal for a guys weekend. I picked this hotel because the it was a good price and great location. I called before booking and asked about the pool and was told yes we have a pool. After check in we thought we would take a quick swim before we headed out for the night to find the pool room looked and full of cots. When I went to the front desk I was told the pool had been out of service for some time and we I said I was told you had a pool. The comment I got from the desk guy was "we are told to say we do" and then rudely said " what do you want for the price we paid per night." then he turned and walked away. Also if you want a clean room this is not the place for you. There were stains on the carpet the kitchen area had a nice tile floor but the stve and frig. looked like they been there since the 50's. The bathroom tub was dirty with holes in the walls. If you are looking to get some sleep don't count on it. We were on the 12th floor and I got no sleep because you can hear every car that driving on the street. I feel that hotels.com should know what they are booking people into. Things like the pool are a big deal for some people. I would not reccomend hotel to anyone even if you are just looking at price. Let me just say that I am the easiest guy in world to get along with , but when people are disrespectful like the staff at this hotel during our stay I can get angry. I would hate for a family to check in here and have the children be subject to staff being rude to them or their parents. On a good note there is a good Chinese Resteraunt and coffee shop attached (not owned by the hotel)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Location isn't everything...

Posted Jan 20, 2011 on Hotels
Whoever said "Location, Location, Location" never stayed here. This hotel looks nice from the outside and in the lobby, but when you get to your room you will feel like you just arrived in 1968. Seriously, the rooms look like they haven't been remodeled in 40 years. The only thing modern about them are the key card readers on the doors, the tiny microwave, and the wi-fi connection. The kitchen appliances, the bathroom fixtures, even the TV look like relics from a by-gone era. The first room they gave us was cold and drafty, and the heater didn't work properly. The second room had a good heater, but none of the light switches seemed to work. The lady from the front desk was plugging lamps into different outlets trying to get them to turn on. Some were connected to cheap extension cords behind the beds. The old TV's had terrible greenish pictures in both rooms. The toilet seat was chipped, the shower head was old, and only provided a weak trickle. And to top it off, the parking costs16 bucks a day and the lot is 2 blocks away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Its a good hotel for a cheap stay for what you get.

Posted Jan 20, 2011
So the hotel room was clean... the bathroom was very clean. The cleaning lady updated out shampoos and soaps, towels everyday. Now the problem I had is that you have or at least in my room we had this DINKY little tv on a little stand up stand. Now we got maybe,,, 14 channels, all which were all FUZZY. Not that it mattered much because I only slept in hotel.. still... it was very very outdated. The stove and fridge were very old and I didnt even check if the stove still worked. Overall it was a good hotel and I will maybe even stay again because Im planning 5 more Montreal trips during summer... so we will see.,