Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as bad as most of the reviews had me preparing

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Good: location, spaciousness, full kitchen, price Not so good: our room had a severely broken bed (I slept in a hole for three nights) and the staff member who checked in with us each morning just opened the door and came in without knocking. Overall, for the price and easy walkability to basically everything most people will want to do in MTL, it's at least a 6.5/10. Go in with reasonable expectations and you'll be fine. And really, if you're going to Montreal to hang out in your hotel room, you should probably just stay home anyway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Horrible Scam of a Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: It was close to the restaurants and cafés we would go to escape from it. Also close to McGill University.
Cons: Customer service, cleanliness, and overall comfort of the place could be greatly improved. The hotel has great bones but is being neglected.
Location: The hotel is right on Sherbrooke Ouest, which is a main street in Downtown Montreal. Easy to get to night life, food, and easy to get a cab.
I'm going to start this review by stating that this hotel reminded me of a quaint hotel in Europe - old, neglected, dirty, and overpriced due to its location. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no concierge, person to greet as at a desk, or even a desk to be greeted at. The room keys were held in a lock box to which we had no code for, but we somehow got in contact with someone who gave us the password. There was no elevator, so we had to carry 5 suitcases up the stairs (luckily we were in the first room on the first floor, which we realized was due to the fact that there was nobody else staying at the hotel). The carpet on the stairs was covered in dust and smelled musty, a theme that did not change when we got to our room. The floor boards creaked whenever anyone would step on them. The kitchen was filthy, the vanity in the bathroom cracked and on the edge of falling - I'm just surprised that the be and mattress had no bed bugs (we had to check after the state of the rest of the apartment). The only mildly positive thing I have to say is the furniture was nice. However, if you stay here, you will quickly realize that it is the only monetary investment that has been made into this property for quite some time. There was no cleaning or food service, or any other amenities except the free wifi that would kick you off every half an hour. Overall a huge disappointment. The photos on the website are more than misleading - this is a terrible scam. Do not stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will NEVER use Expedia again

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Rundown view of broken windows from the apartment
Not a hotel a quick fix money grabbing buildiing. Expedia uses representatives in Egypt to resolveissues that havent got the authirity to help.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

I've seen better prisons.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: There is nothing redeeming about this hotel.
Cons: The entire building needs to be torn down and rebuilt.
Location: Next to the Hilton Garden Inn, where you should stay instead.
This is the absolute worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in. Here is why: 1. There is no staff or management on site ever. 2. There is also no business registration number (I called both City Hall and the provincial registry). 3. It's not really a hotel. It's small, run down apartments, that are being rented out short term. 4. Management is almost impossible to reach. (Call the number listed right now. I guarantee that no one will answer.) 5. The only number available is an emergency number that is taped to the front door and the man that picks up is arrogant and apathetic. 6. The door to your apartment has crevices and cracks so that someone could peek over the top and look in and the locks are very cheap. 7. There is no fire escape plan or route. We discovered this when a fire alarm went off during our stay. Management did not even show up when the firefighters did. 8. The room is incredibly dirty. There was dust, debris and cigarette holes on the sofa bed. The actual bed had dirty sheets. The curtains had a blood stain and were tattered. The whole place smelled of mould. The bathroom had fecal stains on the wall, the toilet was dirty. There is debris and garbage all over the floor. The walls are cracked and in terrible condition with weird stains all over. 9. The TV has been disconnected and management doesn't care. 10. There is exposed wiring and unfinished outlets on the walls. 11. The stove was not secured and wobbly. Do NOT make the same mistake we did.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Cons: Not advertising it with hotels
Read the entire description. These are apts rented out. There is no lobby, no staff, just a girl at a folding table for a few hours every evening. There was no place to call when our toilet clogged. No plunger either. There was matted hair on our pillows and other hair in the bed sheets. Broken remotes or a remote with just one battery. Bathroom door that didn't shut all the way. Don't let the photos fool you. Great location, cruddy service and Amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Montreal Apartment

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Position - space!
Cons: Difficult with language barrier - Aussie in a French Montreal......
Location: Access to whatever Montreal has to offer!
Hi - recent stay at these apartments - central & easy walking distance to public transport & shops. Comfy & roomy. Air conditioner over entry door leaked - onto wooden floors, so we did not use it as we were concerned about it leaking to apartment below. Missing pillowcase, none of which was a big deal. Towels changed one day & not subsequently? Otherwise very happy with the amenities. Loved the old world charm of the interior - the staircase (no lift if thats a problem for anyone) the flooring, tiles etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The Location! It was so close to everything I love about going to Montreal.
Cons: Clean the floors and paint the walls, replace the curtains and blinds that are falling off the windows. Supply bathroom paper!
Location: Close to the entrance to Mont Royal Park, McGill and UQAM campus, Old Montreal, rue Ste Catherine and Place des Arts. Lots of restos nearby!
I was taken back to my student apartment days. There were paint chips knocked out all over the apartment. In the bedroom, the curtains were falling off the rail and the blinds did not work. There was no railing in the closet and no coat hangers, so could not hang anything up. There was nowhere to put toiletries or to rest my curling iron onto in the bathroom. My room was tidied during the stay, but the toilet paper was taken away! I had to buy my own! There were no dish washing supplies or detergent for the dishwasher. The wood floors were so dirty I could not walk barefoot. Not the nicest place I have ever stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful apartment style hotel right downtown

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very nice and clean apartment style hotel. Lots of room to entertain and is very quiet. We had a great experience! Parking was a bit tricky but there is public parkibg near by. Hotel receptionist could be a little more courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Took a chance

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Location: downtown on Sherbrooke; restaurants; movie theater; McGill; quiet side streets w/ beautiful old buildings; Old Montreal & Port not too far
I was offered a choice of hotel deals after booking my flight with Expedia. At that time, it had a 3.7 review; however, its location & price persuaded me to take a chance & book a 4 night stay. When we arrived, there was a pretty bad leak in the bathroom that made the floor wet & slippery. The TV was not working-it appeared to have been disconnected. We reported the problems & were told they would be fixed by the next afternoon. Neither were fixed by early afternoon. We were then told that we would get a room upgrade if they were not fixed. The leak was fixed by late afternoon, but the TV was not. The person on duty was different from the one we'd been working with, & she said that she knew nothing about a room upgrade & that the person was going to be there in a few minutes to fix the TV. We saw no one. The TV was never fixed, we never received a room upgrade, nor were we offered any compensation for our inconvenience. We also didn't get the bath mat we requested (since we had to use ours to sop up the leak), had to go down twice to ask for toilet paper, & only had housekeeping services 1x. Advantages: local business in a cool, funky building; great location; lots of space; friendly staff who were helpful @ getting taxis Suggestions: improve cleanliness; provide housekeeping daily; perfection is not expected in these types of hotels so either deliver on your promises or don't make them
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great price, but not much else.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
No air condition, the machine was there, but did not work. Standing water in the sink that was already there and would not drain. Left over food in the freezer and cupboard. No curtains in bedroom.