Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton ab

Nice and cheap

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The only thing I didn't like about is they charged me for extra mattress which it cost me 23$ a night which in the end the room cost me 104$ a night I could have booked some 4 star hotel with that price , no room service , no towels (extra) , loud area, parking sucks in the neighbourhood, at the residence is expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Kingston, On

Simple dorm room, great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, price.
This is a small no frills room with a stiff mattress on the bed. It was just what I expected, though, so it was totally fine. Very handy to have the kitchenette in the room, and location can't be beat. About 2 blocks from St. Catherine St, a couple of minutes from the subway, and a parking garage right next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Typical student residence

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Typical student residence. Fine as long as what you search is just a bed for the night and a shower. The main advantages are the location (downtown Montréal, a couple of minutes from place des arts) and the lower price per night wrt hotels in this area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Dirty

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Dirty very dirty im verry upset . Idont recommande thischotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location right downtown

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown!
Cons: Having rooms ready on time or even earlier
Location: Close to saint catherine which has a mall and lots of things going on in the streets
Went here the past weekend. It was pretty good overall. Didn't get checked in right at 4 pm as the room was not ready yet so that kinda sucked. Also, the shower was SUPER small, but for the price, it was worth it and you get your own bathroom. I like how the room had a more home like feel rather than a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice place

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The dorm was cleaned daily. The staff were polite. The entire interaction and stay was easy and cheap.
Cons: A larger trash can and recycling bin is needed in the dorms. The bath mat in the shower room should be changed regularly with the daily clean
Location: The location is close to a trendy part of downtown, so you can expect to find many great clothing shops and restaurants to check out.
My experience was nice and the price was right. The staff were friendly, and all of my basic needs were met. My room did not have a fan (which I highly recommend you consider bringing if you are travelling in the summer months). The room was nice and basic. Consider bringing your own pillows if you can for extra support. It is not a must, as they do provide you with two pillows, but if you are like me and like a little more to your pillow than bring an extra. Also, if sharing the room with another person, you may want to consider bringing another blanket. Again, they do provide you with a blanket but it can be somewhat small for two people. The location is prime. Right in the heart of downtown. A ton of restaurants and shopping centers within a 10k walk, and the metro is about a 2min walk. Enjoyed my stay and would consider staying with UQAM again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Residences located central downtown Montreal

Posted Aug 15, 2017
These residences have an ideal location downtown Montreal (3 min walk to a metro as well). They are clean and comfortable but the rooms could do with some air conditioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Aug 15, 2017
The room was affordable and downtown. It was not nice nor very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel Experience Ever

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Cons: Everything.
It was an apartment in the residence. Someone was throwing a party at midnight. They even broke a bottle right in front of our room. We couldn't sleep until 3 p.m.. My whole body felt itchy the next morning and the front desk insisted there was no bed bugs there. They first said they will refund and they let us go. When we had already left Montreal, they told us they can not refund because we don't have a proof? Why didn't these people tell us at the first place that they couldn't refund? Horrible experience. Never want to see the residence again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Location CANNOT be beat!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Washroom, room size.
Location: Prime location, close to everything! Sky is the limit!!
I wish I was told about NO air conditioning. But location CANNOT be beat. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. This place is a typical student residence. I opted for the single room with own washroom. Shower is extremely small, sink is awkwardly placed, but typical student residence. Not very comfortable. But I stayed because of the location and also the onsite parking, which you must pay extra for. Very weird smell coming from the lobby and residence itself. You have to smell it to believe it. I am not a picky traveller. As long as I have a bed I am happy. for the more sophisticated traveller, do not take this room, especially with a guest. It is extremely small, cramped, and washrooms are unbelievably awkward. But it's still quite nice from my perspective. I always travel alone, so whatever, I do not care! Overall, I would stay here again, only when its cool outside!