Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2018
Cheaper alternative but nicer than anything else in its price range. Some goofiness - fitness center equipment is sub-par (can't elect workouts greater than 30 minutes), no dresser in room (only a closet with one shelf, nightstand with tiny drawer, and desk - weird to not have a place for folded clothes), bathroom door had to be propped open or else mirror would fog up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa Bay Area, FL

Decent hotel right downtown

Posted Mar 29, 2018
The hotel is not on a main avenue so the area is a little scary after dark, but the hotel itself is nice, staff are friendly, breakfast is included, and the location is right downtown, only 1-2 blocks from the BART. Very convenient if you need to be downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was nice but room was too small with noises

Posted Mar 23, 2018
Room was too small with small bed. Noisy outside with draft from window. Staff says "good hot breakfast," but very little effort hot food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central CA

Small rooms But Well Kept

Posted Mar 15, 2018
Pros: Clean rooms, good towels, quiet, the breakfast was good, really good.
Cons: Not too much. The parking lot, where you park your car is a bit sketchy.
Location: Downtown Oakland : Good Luck! The Indian restaurant next door was a great surprise, very good.
Hotel rooms were small, but the place was clean, well maintained and quiet to sleep in. You are in downtown Oakland so it is not Shangri-La. You have to be observant. Their were police everywhere so I guess you were safe??!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible, left Clarion Oakland

Posted Feb 23, 2018
I am going to lodge a complain and ask for a refund from Expedia. I book a lot and this hotel made me feel unsafe across the board. Info on expedia was not accurate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Ayu, Hotel Management
We do apologize that you felt unsafe. Is it the area or the hotel? We never had a complain that the hotel being unsafe, but with all the construction around us it might look unsafe, Unfortunately there is nothing the hotel can do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The bathtub was rusty and the bed tough as nails.

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: upgrades. everywhere.
I ended up sleeping elsewhere. Also, the WiFi doesn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by ayu, Hotel Management
We do apologize for the rust in the new bath tub, wrong plumbing product installed we are correcting the issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2018 on Hotels
A nice experience in Clarin Hotel downtown Oakland city center. The room is clean, the services are nice and excellent breakfast. We enjoyed and appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Ayu, Hotel Management
Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pleasantly surprised

Posted Jan 29, 2018 on Hotels
Last minute trip to Oakland. All of my favorite hotels were sold out. I was reluctant at first. I've never stayed at a Clarion Hotel before. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was accommodating and very nice. My room was small, but clean. I had a flat screen TV, free HBO and Wi-Fi. Free hot breakfast.The pillows were way too soft. Very uncomfortable. I will book again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2018 on Hotels