Ratings based on 1,330 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK

Great location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The location is great. Just steps away from Byward restaurants/market and easy walking to almost everything else. Even though the place was full my room was very quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cranbrook, BC

Comfortable, good value, close to amenities

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: We appreciated the on-site parking, and the ability to walk to a multitude of restaurants, shops, and pubs within a few blocks.
Cons: We would have liked to be given a map of the city when we checked in, with recommendations for top sites to visit while we were here.
Location: One block from the pubs on George St, shopping and many restaurants.
Lots of character in this hotel, from beams to exposed brick. Our room is large but cosy with comfortable furnishings and a small electric fireplace for atmosphere. Snacks and coffee are available in the inviting lounge off the foyer. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Visitor from Scotland

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location location
Location: Tons of restaurants and shops within walking distance.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for touring the Parliament Buildings and numerous tourist attractions and walking distance to multiple restaurants and shops. Rooms were clean and cosy. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We will return and recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbellford, Ont.

Unique hotel in heart of Byward Market

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Last minute booking that lived up to the good reviews. Old world charm, small simple rooms but every bit of space put to good use. Nice little touches ( real cream in fridge for coffee), little patio table out on deck. Good breakfast included. Parking in indoor garage next door -$ 15.for one night. Handy walking distance to restaurants, Byward Market, Parliament Hill and access to City Bus Tour. Will use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundas Ontario

Great location close to Byward Market.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Smaller size, location and breakfast.
Cons: Hallways and elevator were tight - hard to manoeuver. No complaints.
Location: Excellent location - only a block away from the restaurant district. Within walking distance of many Ottawa attractions such as Parliament Buildings.
This hotel is a gem located near Byward Market, restaurant area and near many Ottawa sites and attractions. It is a small hotel that had a "European touch". The room was very comfortable although not luxurious with nice extras such as a small fully equipped kitchen, bottled water and housecoats and slippers. The balcony was a nice touch on a warm summer evening. Staff were very helpful with a list of recommended restaurants. The breakfast was above average compared to the usual "continental" breakfasts at the major hotel chains. The hotel had a boutique feel and a pleasant change from the sterile major hotel chains. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, ON

The heart of the Byward market district

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Walking distance to Parliament, Canal, the Locks, Rideau Centre and all that the Byward Market has to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Mediocre hotel in great Byward Market location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
This is a middle-of-the-road, Holiday Inn quality place at a good price in the fun market area. The included breakfast was plentiful but not good, and our bed was u-shaped so my wife and I rolled to the middle. If you're economizing and want to be in the market, you'll tolerate the rest, but we wanted something more upscale and won't be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Little gem in the heart of the Byward Market.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Easy walking distance to Rideau canal, Parliament buildings, Sparks Street and the Rideau shopping centre and just one block to the heart of the Byward Market. Quaint little Inn that was very comfortable and cozy with many rooms boasting a balcony. Lovely breakfast provided each morning as well as refreshments served between 3-5pm which was included in the room cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Would not hesitate to recommend the byward blue inn. It's close to everything, we parked out car in the city parking lot which is two doors down, while we were there we never took the car out until we left 5 days later. The location could not of been better. We walked to everything. The breakfast in the morning was great. Rooms clean and spacious. The only disappointment is the restaurants in the area. I think the best meal we had was at the byward inn at breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend it .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville

Very nice stay

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Very comfortable and clean. It had everything we would need for an overnight stay. Close to the market. A bit on the pricey side though.