Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Central location, nice stay

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Friendly staff, great location. Decor is a little dated but everything was clean and nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel... walking distance of every thing

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Awesome...we had early check in upgraded us without us asking and gave us a welcome platter of fruit and cheese!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Cons: nothing
nothing additional to add,, overall stay was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room ,beautiful pool!

Posted Dec 10, 2017
It was great to be right in the Byward Market , To experience choice of dining and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good location + free in-room WiFi = Winner!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Free in-room WiFi. Proximity to shopping (e.g. Rideau Centre), bars (Scottish "Highlander Pub" I would highly recommend), a big LCBO, the Dollarama.
Cons: At check-in guy asked me for photo-ID which I gave him (passport). But he also wanted ID with my address,plus my home phone number (identity thief?!)
Location: See above.
Thesedays it is always a pleasant surprise to find a big-name hotel chain that offers free WiFi. Free WiFi (I am talking in-room WiFi, not common-area WiFi which is silly), is the absolute deciding factor for me when choosing a hotel, especially so in another country where your cellphone will not work. Sure, this hotel also has a pool and spa, and bar and all the other stuff you would expect, also. But WiFi is more important than all of that combined. The other important thing is the proximity to downtown, to Parliament, to the Canada Mint, to the Rideau Canal, all of which are easily walkable. Sure, the hotel is kinda small (4-stories high, with a much bigger hotel right across the street), but that means you get more attention from staff when you want it. The bizarre thing was check-in, where you are asked to hand over a photo-ID that has your home address on it (apparently my passport was not enough), and are also asked for your home phone number (??). Thankfully, I was traveling with someone else that had a North American drivers license with address on it, and they accepted that. But there was zero explanation of why he needed this totally irrelevant information (I had pre-paid my stay a month before via Expedia, and my cellphone does not work in Canada anyhow as I told him, and we were not using any car). I worried the guy might be trying to clone my identity or something equally shady. Why else would he want all this personal irrelevant info?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to byward market

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Super convenient location to everywhere in the area, park your car and walk wherever you desire Front desk staff is all we dealt with a very friendly and helpful with directions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines

Nice hotel in the heart of Ottawa

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Location: Parliament Hill, Royal Mint, National Art Gallery of Canada, scenic Ottawa River, Rideau Canal.....too many to list
Clean hotel with a very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Great pool and fitness area. Hotel is close to most major attractions in Ottawa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisily hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: was clean
Cons: noise
This hotel is a great location, but was very noisily and did not get much sleep. Do not have a room by the bar street, unless you are a heavy sleeper.
4 out of 5
by Cheryl

Good spot to explore from

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to use as a base while in Downtown Ottawa. Minutes away from great food, shopping and parliament hill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara

Great location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Nice hotel, clean, friendly staff and close to everything !