Ratings based on 2,825 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cold Lake, Alberta

Close to everything!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Close to restaurants, parliament, museums, art galleries! Could easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. Staff stored our luggage until we left for airport. Great service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel for a over night stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Pool & Gym
Location: Parliament buildings and proximity to the Byward Market
Staff is friendly and they appear to be doing some updating to the rooms. however the pool & gym area was small and dated. not enough chairs / tables ....and the towels were very old and worn out. Served it's purpose for the night but not a place I will be returning too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nicely renovated classic!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff. Nicely appointed rooms.
Location: Best location.
Great Location and friendly staff. Its a nicely renovated classic Canadian hotel with charm. Would definitely stay here again. Location is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us. We are lucky to both be in such a wonderful location and to have a great team of staff, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed both! We can not wait for your return. Until than, thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location and nice rooms

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Walking distance to major sightseeing. Very clean hotel. Quiet though by Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Jacky, Thank you for review. We are so pleased to hear to that you enjoyed our location as well as your room. We look forward to your future stay. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Noisier than New York

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Extremely noisy all night, as if the windows are open and the buses are about to drive over you in bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: great central location, excellent staff, very spacious and comfortable room, shower was excellent - size of shower, cleanliness, water pressure.
Cons: The pool was much too chlorinated, but then there were a lot of children in the hotel at this time of year. So maybe it was necessary!
We will stay here again. Comfortable and convenient hotel. Enjoyed the parade that went by each morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Were delighted to hear about all of the wonderful things you experienced while on your stay here. Thank you for sharing all of the things that made your stay wonderful with us and other users. We will pass along your feedback about our pool area. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit the next time you are in Ottawa! Until then, safe travels! Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful accommodations

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Character. Excellent Customer Service
Cons: Room was not dusted regularly so had a lot of dust on furniture and lamps.
Location: Location was great. Changing of the guards both at Parliament and the Unknown Soldiers. Rideau Shopping Center close by. All within walking distance.
Room faced Confederation Blvd., so got to see guards marching to do the changing of the old guard to new every morning. Tapestry was beautiful. Hotel is close to everything and is walking distance to a lot of events. Would go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the renovations to the guestrooms that we've done! We will pass along your feedback to our House Keeping Department. We love to hear that the Lord Elgin is living up to our patron’s expectations, and we plan to keep it that way! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Until then, safe travels! Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location-helpful staff

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Only negative thing: there is a lot of mold in the grout in the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
the hotel is comfort, and closed to downtown. room is a little small while it is clean and well organized. The corridor to the room may confuse customers because it is almost the same, like a maze.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. The Lord Elgin was built 75 years ago and so each room is quite unique in it's layout etc. We have a variety of room sizes and would invite you to ask to see others next time to get a good sampling of what we have. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON, Canada

Very nice hotel, great location!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The hotel is very close to the Parliament, shopping, restaurants and cafeterias. Walking distance also from parks and the Rideau Canal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Caio, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you highlighting our location in relation to popular sites within the downtown Ottawa area. We hope you got the chance to explore the city. Until next time, safe travels. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel