Ratings based on 2,884 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Great place with a good location. We star just for once night, but was OK for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: It was just fine for our limited purposes. There are upgrades available for different types of views, for example.
Location: See above.
I spent a weekend in Ottawa with my daughter to celebrate Canada's 150th Birthday year. We were lucky to catch the last performance of "Northern Lights", a great "Son et Lumiere" Show of Canadian history projected onto the Parliament Buildings, in easy walking distance from the hotel, as were great restaurants and all the major museums. Since the weather was fine both days, we walked everywhere all day long, and so did not spend much time in the hotel. Still, we appreciated the spaciousness and quietness of the room, and especially its business center allowing easy keeping in touch with our home bases.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Hotel staff are friendly and efficient, particularly housekeeping and valet service. The location is excellent, central to the most interesting sites and parks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, On

Pleasant hotel near major Ottawa attractions.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, attentive staff. Bright spacious rooms; Modern bathroom with large shower.
Cons: Need grab bars in the shower for safety reasons. Also suggest a makeup mirror and perhaps terrycloth gowns and slippers.
Location: See above. It is very conveniently located for shopping, art and history as well as conference centre.
Upgraded elegant hotel within 10 minutes walk to Rideau Centre, Shaw Convention Centre, Art Centre, Byword Market, Parliament Buildings. Across the street from Rideau Canal. Attentive knowledgable staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

Lord Elgin

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The washrooms in the lobby
Location: It is centrally located and very convenient.
This hotel is very conveniently located and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Absolutely no complaints about my room or the staff. The only thing that I would say they need to work on is the condition of the ladies washroom in the lobby. It is in need or repair. It was very clean but the doors on the stalls were a little rough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The Lord Elgin provided us with the perfect setting for our mini getaway. From the friendly valet staff and great front desk service, to the beautifully appointed room, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to 4 stars.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Nice location. Nice building.
Cons: Install some proper windows. Organise the bathrooms so that it is convenient for more than one person. Fix the doors so they dong bang shut.
The location, building and rooms were of a high standard. Unfortunately the windows did not keep any of the outside noise out of the room. The noise level from the street was so loud that we had to speak very loud in the room and it was quite irritating. Enough to directly affect my mood and the mood of the person staying with me. The rooms are also very poorly planned if you are more than one staying in the room. The toilet is the kind of model you will find in a public restroom. Do not expect to be able to flush it and not wake up the other person in the room. The Dining hall would fit nicely in a retirement home. Nothing on the doors to stop them from banging all day as they close. Handle the taxi drivers better. We were stuck at the entrance of the driveway for a long time as one taxi was blocking the entrance and having a nice chat with a colleague. Some of the staff had a strange somewhat pretentious attitude. Lots of other small things but I do not think that the managers really care about their work. If you want to put 4 stars up, and charge the price for it, please provide what is expected...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient hotel for the Army Run!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Great location, mint, upgraded hotel. Great staff, bell desk and front desk alike.
Very nice and accommodating staff. After the Army Run, although we were already checked out, we were kindly offered to use the Fitness Centre to have a well deserved shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by AM, Hotel Management
We are so delighted that you stayed with us during army run. We love being so close to this race and the Ottawa Marathon in May. So much energy!! Thank you for your feedback. I have shared it with our front office/valet team, who will love reading it. We hope you will be back again soon!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Really desapointed

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very small room not what we expected, staff lost our night cost us 400$ really not worth it, im actually shocked, not even a bottle of water included, no breakfast and no parking included, ill be in the Sheraton hôtel for sure next Time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ontario

Short stay in Ottawa

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Great location, beds were not to our liking, too soft. Staff was nice and very helpful. Took quite a while to get car from valet even though they did not seem overly busy at the time.