Ratings based on 2,055 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The building smells terrible

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The first room we got smelled really bad, as if it never opened the window and let the air circulate. Then we changed to another room on higher floor, which was ok. But the common area on that floor and the swimming pool level had a very strong cigarette smell. I was disappointed, this hotel was far worse than many other Marriotts I have stayed. The Hotel is a little out of dated as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Games room was a big hit!
We had a great stay as a family and we'll be back! Excellent location. Five minute walk to Parliament Hill and a Starbucks in the hotel as well - always a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooms and accommodating staff

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Location: Close to Sparks st, Parliament buildings, war museum and natnl art gallery
Excellent accommodations and museums, shopping close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
It's easy to get around because it's a nearby hotel where you can sightsee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

great hotel close to all the major sites

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: the room - view - location - parking facilities - quick check in - many elevators for a very high rise hotel
Cons: we did not find anything wrong with it - nothing to improve - coffee shop should have been open longer hours Starbucks
Location: location great lots of shops - parliament building 5 minutes walk - Rideau centre 10 minutes and market with lots of restaurants
hotel room huge - fantastic view - great room amenities - staff very pleasant - easy access
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston , Ontario

Excellent Downtown Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Location: It is very near the Parliament and government buildings . Visit the market which is close by . Many good restaurants in the area .
Spacious well appointed room with a wonderful view . Great bed and good pillows . Very clean room . Loved the shamshampoo and conditioner along with the soap provided . Only two negatives : unless you have a small car going into and out of the parking was scary - very narrow curving ramps with a maximum ceiling height of 6 feet ; the restaurant was expensive and the food was so so with a very limited menu .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, Ontario

Excellent rooms. Close to the Parliament building

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: joining rooms
Cons: nothing
Location: Merriott Ottawa was close to the Mint, Parliament buildings, downtown Ottawa
We had joining rooms. Made it easy to socialize with our family. Excellent dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to parliament and all important

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great place to be in close to all important places clean and great service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location In downtown Ottawa

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Staff was very attentive and helpful; great location - walkable to Byward market and Rideau centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Bathroom ceiling leaked.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Nice hotel. Bathroom ceiling leaked onto the toilet constantly. Breakfast buffet was luke warm. Overall good hotel.