Ratings based on 777 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Cheri

Excellence and Swagger

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
The staff treated us like visiting royalty. In the age of short attention spans and rushed interactions, I was impressed with the across the board excellence
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Great adult family get away

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
A great hotel experience. Excellent customer service and great food. The service at the Three pools is outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Very charming. The pool service, food and drinks were exceptional. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Rudy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

Great place

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Both pillows are on the softer side. Maybe offer one soft and one firmer
I've stayed here multiple times and have always had a great experience. The hotel layout is cool, rooms are perfect size, walk in shower is great, and the location to downtown is ideal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peace and relaxation

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The only thing we wished we had for our room was a patio or somewhere we could sit outside our room although there were community seating areas very close. Great hotel if you want a nice quiet vaca with your significant other. Maybe a little too quiet for us but great for a romantic or peaceful time.
5 out of 5
by Sean

try this place out!

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
lovely in general
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missing reservation

Posted May 2, 2017
I got to the hotel at 9pm at night just to be told that my reservation wasn't on file and that they didn't have anything for me. The from desk claims there was never a confirmation email sent to them. When I booked on Expedia I was told I had the last room so I guess my room got given away before I could get there. Very disappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Not what it used to be

Posted May 1, 2017 on Orbitz
We had loved the Avalon from both visits to eat there and tours as a potential wedding venue so we were very excited to stay there last weekend. We had actually stayed at this property as the Vicroy and loved its cool modern rooms in a peaceful downtown setting. I have to say the staff is great. The rooms and property though are showing age and not up to par with other hotels of the same price is Palm Springs. Our pool view room was dark, and cheaply furnished with funriture in strange locations. There was an expanse of floor space in the corner that looked like it was missing funiture and what was in the room was cheap and bland compared to the tour we mentioned before. The room was not clean up to standards, there was a film on the bathroom door I had to wipe with a towel (we called for more towels and they showed up 45 min later). The grounds are nice but showing age with the main pool needing some edge and plaster work. I have to say the staff was very nice but we will not be back since we can get more for our money elsewhere in town.