Ratings based on 804 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Pittsburgh Downtown

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Its history and proximity to PNC Park. And very comfortable beds.
Cons: Stop the hammering on the parking garage construction across the street......
Location: Baseball, Football, Theatre, walk the river front.
Great hotel and location.....The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We were only staying one night, and the guy at the desk offered to us a newly renovated suite when I asked for a room with a view. The room did have a great view of the river and the stadium. What the room did not have was a bed. It had a fold out couch, folded out, and a very cushy queen mattress laying on the foldout. Being swayed by the great view, we took it. That was a huge mistake. We like firm mattresses, and we ended up dragging the fluffy old mattress onto the floor and slept on the "not bad for a fold out" couch. It was probably the worst bed I have ever tried to sleep on. I cannot believe they were passing off this party room for a sleeping room. It reminded me of an episode from I love Lucy, where Lucy took Ricky and tied him to the sideboard so he would not roll into the middle of the sunken bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Nice hotel staff great. Good location if your catching a Pirate game
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Pay for the river view. It's worth it. Trust me.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
My room was very nice, and the view was fantastic. I would book this same room again in a heartbeat. I think picking any room that ends with 22 from the eighth through 11th floors would be ideal. Modern and comfortable, neat lobby, playful atmosphere. My only real complaints are as follows: 1.) The ironing board and iron in my hotel room were REALLY bad. Cheapest of the cheap. Water leaking everywhere, lumpy, wrinkly board cover resulting in sub par finished item. I had to use a towel to help with the lumpiness. 2.) The kitchen closes fairly early on. I think by 10:30pm it was already closed. Even on a Friday and Saturday. So I couldn't order dessert or anything to take up to my room on the first night. This was a bummer, because the pirogies at the bar connected to this hotel are AMAZING. I did get a great bowl of chips to take to my room because the bartender was so kind. In defense of the hotel, however, there are SO many good places to eat just a two minute walk from the hotel. Try Tako, for sure!!! The hotel staff was charming and helpful, the valet staff was alert and on the ball, and the bartenders were friendly and generous. Excellent visit. I'll be back. Definitely in an amazing location for exploring the city, too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Fairly nice hotel, Great location!

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Loved the location! Bed and sheets were so soft and comfy, rooms nicely decorated. Braddocks (hotel restaurant) food 3.5 out of 5. Hotel staff was friendly, but our cleaning person did not do a very good job with our room, tossed out stuff that we wanted and didn't clean bathroom floors every day, kinda sloppy cleaning overall. The worst part was the moldy, mildew smell in the lobby area by the end of the night. I know it's an old building but oh my, I couldn't wait to get to the elevator to get out of that awful smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: We liked the location and the lobby (very nice). Rooms were nice and clean and slept very well.
Cons: The bar & restaurant could stay opened later, went to Red Beards instead.
Location: We went to see the baseball game at PNC Park (can't beat the location) then walk to PPG arena to see the hockey game.
We liked the location and the lobby (very nice). Rooms were nice and clean and slept very well. PNC Park is right across the river. PPG arena is walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Rooms have great high ceilings

Posted May 23, 2017
Staff very nice and helpful. Close to Warhol museum and baseball stadium.
1 out of 5
by Nina

Terrible stay, and management unsympathetic

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
We splurged for a room here for one important night in Pittsburgh and were shocked to find that our family of 5 was booked into a room with one queen-sized bed. I showed the pre-paid $300 reservation for a room with two queen-sized beds, requesting an additional roll-out bed, and was told that the whole thing was a "request," not a guarantee. The hotel offered us nothing to ease the stay, not even an extra blanket for our sleep on the floor. The hotel was overbooked so no other room was possible (and town was mobbed so no other hotels nearby could fit us.) The view was gorgeous, but this was small solace for sleeping on the floor (so the kids could have the bed). The street itself shows Pittsburgh's sadder side, with two homeless men sleeping outside the main entrance. One of three elevators serving the entire hotel was out-of-service, so just getting up to our room and back was an ordeal. Management showed no sympathy or regret. We will never stay at another Renaissance Hotel.
1 out of 5
by Kent

Disappointed

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Turned out that our stay coincided with a local AAU basketball tournament. A lot of the players stayed at the hotel, many were completely unsupervised. Loud noises and yelling outside of the rooms at 1 am, and no one at hotel answering phone for help in controlling the noise. Plenty of F Bombs while boarding the elevator. Also, the hallways outside the rooms were quite filthy with the remnants of pizza and french fries. Management was quite unsympathetic, particularly because we had booked via online booking service and not direct with Marriott. Upon complaining, I was told that I had to speak with the "Revenue Manager", since the on site manager was not responsible for indirect bookings. Puzzling. Generally, they were unsympathetic. Eventually they offered a complimentary bottle of water. I have stayed at the Renaissance many, many times over the past decade. Sadly, I will not return, not because of the experience, but rather because of the apathetic way that hotel management dealt with it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Room 417-Close to the ballpark and very easy to wa

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location to the ballpark.
Cons: Fix the door in room 417.Improve on training the wait staff.
Location: Ball park but the area could be improved .A true downtown place
Bathroom was very clean and well maintained but the door (a sliding door)was always stuck and could not close all the way.The absence of a handle made it worse.Each time you entered was an event and at the end just about ruined the good things about the room. Room service was delivered but left for me to sign the check at the front of the door. Usually meals are brought in and reviewed by the waiter. Overall not bad.