Ratings based on 1,030 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Stayed overnight for our anniversary. Everything was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Great hotel close to good shopping.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Excellent staff. Called ahead and was able to get early check in. Staff gave good restaurant recommendations and directions to shopping . All in all great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Dossier, we truly appreciate your feedback and can't wait for you to stay with us again in the future. Very happy to hear that our staff personalized your recommendations for you. Sincerely, Zach Miller
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great Location and Stay

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Great location within walking distance of food and shopping. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Spacious bathroom made up for slightly smaller room, but beds and bedding were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Portland

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Hotel was right downtown
Cons: Did not get a key for the bar fridge when I checked in.Had to go back to the front desk.
check in was seamless, parked out front while checking in.The parking parkade is on the next block.This hotel is across the street from a whole block of food trucks.The room was clean and,the bed was soft and comfy for a good night sleep.The bathroom was ginormous with walk in shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Dossier, we truly appreciate your feedback and can't wait for you to stay with us again in the future. I'm sorry that we didn't get you a key when you checked in, next time we will make sure you get this. We do take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and I'm happy to hear yours was spotless. Sincerely, Zach Miller
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Renovations are complete but construction is not

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great hotel and location BUT construction zone across the street starts before 6am!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Dossier, we truly appreciate your feedback and can't wait for you to stay with us again in the future. We understand the construction start times are an inconvienice for our guests and while we work directly with the city we are not always successful at stopping the work. We do make sure that earplugs are available in all rooms that might be affected and are always happy to provide a room move if needed. Sincerely, Zach Miller
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hmmmm a couple things ...........................

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Organization and communication.
Location: Visited wineries and local restaurants.
The hotel was nice however, the maid never cleaned our room and no one ever contacted us that the hotel had changed name and ownership from The Westin to The Dossier . We were driving around the block a couple times looking for the Westin and there was no name to be found. We came back after a long day of Oregon fun and discovered our room hadn't been cleaned, which was disorienting! We were there for two nights. As we were checking in we were advised the hotel had changed name and ownership at the beginning of August. Seems to me we could have been notified being our reservation wasn't until the end of August and we had made our reservation months ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. We will be the first to admit we make mistakes, but we always learn from them and we will try extra hard to make sure your room and those of other future guests are serviced every day of your stay. We understand that not being told about the change over can be disorienting and we certainly alerted everyone we had contact information for, however not all reservation avenues online give us contact information and that is regrettable. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Zach Miller
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was a good experience with friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and large.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Dossier, we truly appreciate your feedback and can't wait for you to stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Zach Miller
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Only one with a bed still available

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Close to downtown dining, shops, On/Off tour bus. Seems $$$>experience. Very weird artwork on walls. Checked internet for instruction for coffee maker, tiny cups. $45/d/parking!!, a gouge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Dossier, we truly appreciate your feedback and can't wait for you to stay with us again in the future. Sorry to hear that we missed the mark on some of your expectations, we will try harder next time. Sincerely, Zach Miller
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Aug 22, 2017
For the price we paid, I would have expected the room to not be so tiny and the housekeeping to be up to par. When we checked in, our bed sheet had a large, noticeable stain on it. They also did not replenish the soap and shampoo during our 4 night stay. We also noticed that they failed to clean the wine glasses. Not a bad hotel, but I can find a better experience at a lower price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Dossier, we are sorry to hear that we missed the mark for you on some things. Your feedback is the best measure for how we are doing as a hotel, and therefore important to us. I would venture to say that as a green initiative, we do not replace bottled soap daily unless requested or empty, and this may be why our housekeeping staff did not replace your bottles. The wine glasses should absolutely been cleaned and while an oversight, I wish that we had known about this while you were here as we would have immediately brought you some new ones and addressed the issue with the staff. I hope you can give us another try to show you what a stay at the Dossier should be. Sincerely, Zach Miller
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cascadia

Pre-eclipse!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Service and staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Bus station and Amtrak
A short walk or cab ride from the bus station. Wish I could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Dossier, we truly appreciate your feedback and can't wait for you to stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Zach Miller