Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great Location

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Keep up the good work
Location: Downtown Portland
It was nice and clean close to everything you need in Portland downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
We welcome your comments! We were happy to see that your time with us was so enjoyable. We were pleased to read that the accommodations provided met with your expectations and that our location worked out so well for you. We appreciate you choosing The Downtown Value Inn and we hope that we will be your first choice for lodgings whenever you visit Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly Surprised!

Posted Feb 3, 2018
For the price I was expecting a much lower quality hotel! My room was pretty small and it was very cold when I first arrived, but once I turned on the heat it was quickly resolved and the size of the room was really not a problem. I just stayed overnight and left early in the morning, so all I needed was a functional place to sleep and this hotel was perfect for that!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review! We were glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We were also pleased to see that the accommodations provided met with your approval, and that you felt our rates were affordable. Thank you for choosing The Downtown Value Inn. We hope we will have the chance to serve you again whenever your plans bring you back to Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham WA

Close to everything and the bus/train system

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pros: Free parking. close to everything. big rooms
Well worth the price. Free parking and close to all the good stuff. Big rooms. Nice enough room and staff. We will be staying here for our Portland visits.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
We welcome your opinion! We were pleased to read that you had such a good stay. We were glad to see that you felt our rates were affordable, that our personnel and facilities met your expectations, and that our location was convenient for you. We hope you will be back to enjoy our hospitality often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Why can't any other hotels be this perfect!

Posted Jan 15, 2018
See I wasn't hassled I was welcomed inn and felt relaxed awesome rooms and amazing staff. Seriously one of the most awesome places I've stayed by far!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion! We were happy to read that your stay was so enjoyable. We are pleased to know that the accommodations met your expectations, and that you were well treated by our hospitality associates. We hope that we will be your first choice for lodgings whenever your plans bring you back to The Rose City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Best Value in Portland

Posted Jan 13, 2018
You’d be pressed to find a more comfortable stay downtown for the price. Very close to restaurants and public transit. My room had a fridge, microwave and TV. Plenty of hot water. 10/10 will reccomend to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review! We were happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We were glad to read that you felt that our rates were affordable, and that the accommodations were to your liking. We look forward to serving you again soon here at The Downtown Value Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Portland

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Hotel is old and breaking. We stayed for one night and moved to another hotel. Found a sock under the bed with packaging of a wrapper to a feminine product under the bed. Hotel staff was not bad though giving with what they have to work with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
Your opinion is important to us! We were glad to see that you felt our personnel were helpful. We were sorry to read that you found the accommodations provided unsatisfactory. We have had some sudden unexpected turnover with our housekeeping staff, but that is no excuse for facilities where the cleanliness is less than top shelf. All of our guests deserve clean rooms where they can relax and feel comfortable, and we failed to give you the hospitality experience that you should have had. For this we are truly sorry, and would like to extend to you our apologies. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue, and we have forwarded your comments to the ownership for review. Even if you will be seeking lodgings elsewhere we hope that the problems you had here will not discourage you from visiting Portland again often.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid room 22

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Was given the dirt last place room in the hotel # 22 with no wifi, smwlled like smoke, and you could hear next door pizza kitchen cooking and cleaning all night. Asked for a different room or at least wifi help and was told id need to upgrade rooms for relief. Hard to blame staff since there is employee turnover which is affecting the quality of this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your opinion! We were sorry to see that your stay with us was not the positive experience it should have been. It is true that we have had some unexpected loss of personnel, but this should not excuse us for not providing the top shelf hospitality that our patrons deserve. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. We have forwarded your comments to the ownership for review. Thank you for choosing The Downtown Value Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient to south downtown

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: location, people
Cons: Bedding
This place is right next to public transit, easy to get to from the train station, just a few minutes from OHSU. There are places to eat within walking distance. Staff was very helpful. The facilities are not so good. Bedding was put on in a weird way and was far from new. Heating and bathroom worked fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
Your comments are important to us! We were pleased to read that you were well treated by our hospitality associates, and that you found our location so convenient to your needs. We were sorry to see that you found the bed less than satisfactory. We will let our maintenance team know about this issue. It is possible that that room needs new bedding to be installed. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Thank you for choosing The Downtown Value Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia, Wa

Bad Choice

Posted Dec 9, 2017
The location is good. Very close to the max. Parking is very limited and tight. Hotel staff was not very friendly. Upon check in we felt like we were an inconvience showing up, and in the morning nothing feels better than being harassed about checking out. Received a phone call from the front desk at 1015 a.m. telling us that we needed to be out at 11. Also felt harassed when we returned from dinner. Wanting us to show us the room key and ID when going to our room. Room cleaniness was not very good. Still left over paper pieces from previous people under the desk. Didnt feel comfortable. Went to sit in the desk chair and it had acouple of white crusty spots on it. Head boards must not get wiped down, when we turned on the lights you could make out oily foot prints along with other types of prints all over it. Nasty! Bathroom seem clean except for a few spots of what appears to be paint droplets. I felt like this place was way over priced for the quality of the facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing about your experience! We were sorry to see that your stay was less pleasant that you had hoped. Were or front desk personnel made aware that you found the room unsatisfactory? Were they unable to move you to a room that was more to your liking? All of our patrons deserve to have accommodations that are clean and comfortable where they can relax and enjoy themselves. They also deserve to be treated with kindness and courtesy. We failed to provide you with top shelf hospitality, and for this we would like to offer you our sincere apologies. We are grateful that you brought this matter to our attention. Your comments have been forwarded to the ownership for review. We hope that even if you will be seeking lodgings at another property that you will still continue to visit our beautiful city often.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Not bad from what we expected.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
We booked this place based on price before we read any reviews. After we noticed it only had 1.5 stars we took a gander and proceeded to see horror stories of the place and were almost ready to cancel the reservation. However if you notice the dates, a lot of these reviews were posted years ago and improvements have obviously been made. Overall our stay was good. The staff wasn't overly enthusiastic, however they weren't in any way rude. The room was clean and had looked as if it had been remodeled within the last couple of years. If you want a cheap place in downtown Portland and close to city center then I would recommend checking this place out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our establishment! We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Downtown Value Inn. Frank and honest reviews from our valued patrons are appreciated because they are the best guide to what we are succeeding at and what we need to put more effort into. We believe that we should always be improving, and knowing where we can focus our efforts is important to living that goal. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope we will have the chance to serve you again soon.