Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Would come back

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location walking distance from everything in downtown you want to see. Bus service is close by. Hotel was clean fridge and microwave come in handy. Service was great. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, oregon

Nice. Close to downtown

Posted Aug 9, 2017
I liked that it was close to downtown. Pretty clean room and very nice. My one complain is the wi-fi. It kept disconnecting and was pretty slow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
The only improvement would be if management invested in a better grade of facial tissue
3 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Clean, quiet, close to downtown, well run, adequate breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

...

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: .....................................................
Location: .......................................
.................................................................
4 out of 5
by Todd

Very friendly staff!!

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
It's a good place to stay and the staff is super friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Worst hotel experience ever! Room reeked of Smoke!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything - cleaner rooms, rooms that don't reek of smoke.
We weren't expecting much for a budget hotel -- just a clean, comfortable place to stay for one night. Upon entering the room we discovered it REEKED of smoke. My husband has asthma, and there was no way we could stay in the room. We immediately asked for a different room, and we were told that all the rooms smelled the same. The manager informed us that the room we were given was previously a smoking room and they were in the process of renovating the rooms with new carpets, but until then there was nothing they could do. They refused to give us a refund even though we had to leave. As we gathered our belongings to leave, we noticed the stains on the bedding, the mattress was a joke, with a giant dip in the middle, and the paint in the bathroom was peeling. We would have dealt with all of this if only the room wouldn't have smelled of stale cigarette smoke. As we got back in our car and drove away, we could smell the stench of the smoke on our clothes - even though we were only in the room for 5-8 minutes! This is the worst customer service I've ever had a hotel - stay away!
5 out of 5
by Samuel

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Room smelled a little funky but it wasn't unbearable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Downtown convenience and affordability

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, affordability, staff
Cons: small, cosmetic stuff, which I (honestly) find unimportant
Location: The Portland Museum of Art is easily within walking distance and the nearby rail and bus stops can easily take you anywhere else you need to go.
I needed a location convenient to downtown, public transportation, in a decent area (as a woman traveling alone) that would not break the bank for my impulse trip to Portland and the Econo Lodge Portland City Center matched exactly! It had a better rating than other area value choices (even a few of the pricier venues) because of the staff and I can certainly attest to that! Reeta at the front desk was wonderful, my room was clean and comfortable, and there's even a food truck lot right across the street to satisfy any culinary whim. I ended up walking most places I needed to be, but if I needed public transportation there were bus and light rail stops minutes away. I would definitely stay here again. The facilities are on the older side, but there was a microwave and big minifridge (!!) in the room, as well as coffee service. A perfect place to stay for my needs!