Ratings based on 2,115 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful with your needs. When the hot water wasn’t working, they credited our bill $100.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Lives up to reputation. Casual but classy

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Loved the living space on first floor. FIreplace, comfy chairs and couches - very relaxing.
Cons: Parking fee.
Location: Most everything is within walking distance, Plan on using ride service in lieu of having a car (expensive and nuisance)
My mother and I stayed for four days. The staff was accommodating and went above and beyond. The decor was unique and fun. Love the room layout - bedroom and additional living room afforded privacy. The area is conveniently located but street parking is non-existent and hotel parking was $45/night. Overall, this hotel exceeded expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Hotel Monaco , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. parking in the city can be a bit difficult. Our valet parking is $42 per night in our secure private on site lot. We hope you had a chance to enjoy one of our evening receptions. We have live music nightly at our social hour!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
In town on business and to visit friends. Central locatiin to everything, and staff was extraordinary. Bed and pillows could be better but overall very satisfied with the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Hotel Monaco, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We would love to bring you additional pillows! Our guest comfort is most important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Hotel was centrally located downtown. We were within walking distance to restaraunts, coffee shops, and a lot of the neighboring districts, including Pearl and Chinatown. It was an approx. 15 minute drive from the airport. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers a companion goldfish for your stay, which was a fun addition to our room. Our room was comfortable and decorated in a fun way. Our room was spacious and included a central living room like area with a couch, table, and TV that was a nice way to make the room more comfortable to spend time in. There was complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning, but the quality of it can be improved. Given the cost of this hotel, the competiting hotels its surrounded by, and the higher end/quirky environment it encourages, we expected a little more by way of quality (coffee tasted watery) and selection for the hospitality offerings (just coffee carafes and packets of sugar with store brand tea bags laid out). Overall, we enjoyed our stay & would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Hotel Monaco, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We love our coffee in the PNW, Our coffee is fresh ground every morning, sounds like that was an incorrect brew! We will be sure to confirmed we are brewing correctly! Thanks for mentioning it. We hope you travels bring you our way again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Great location. Please add a bit more to your review
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Hotel Monaco, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying. We hope to have you with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Loved this hotel, especially how spacious the rooms are and the cozy lobby. I was surprised the maid service only came once in 3 nights and did not make up the day bed or remove the room service dishes from the day before. Otherwise, great stay and I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Hotel Monaco, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. So sorry to hear about the inconsistent housekeeping service. Please let us know right away, we want to know so we can correct it and ensure the best possible stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Friendly and Helpful staff, Beautiful hotel!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was the best and the hotel is absolutely gorgeous!
Location: Located right downtown this hotel is a short walk from many of the amenities of Portland including the river front, breweries and restaurants
The Kimpton Monaco was delightful from the get-go. I called ahead to chat with the concierge about what restaurants and places we should visit and Heather took the time to ask questions about what kind of experiences we were looking for and what we were in to. This was followed up with a detailed list of what places to visit and what was going on in Portland which was extremely helpful as we had never been to Portland before. Upon our very late arrival we were greeted by the spectacular and gorgeous hotel lobby and lounge area! Seriously, it was amazing!. Check-in was simple and fast and we quickly retired to our beautiful suite....where we found a lovely gift-basket full of water, wine and chocolate. The next day our new goldfish friend arrived which was a quirky and adorable add. Following an adventure-filled day in Portland we returned to the Monaco where we were greeted by the lovely Theo and Rebecca. They are amazing! We had missed happy hour so they provided us with vouchers to get a glass of wine or beer to relax with in the lobby (as we waited for our husbands to go get ready! lol). Once we were ready to go for dinner Theo provided recommendations of where to go afterwards, which is great as we had no idea where the fun would be :) As we arose extremely late the next day we relaxed in our provided robes (which are the cutest) and enjoyed a delicious room-service breakfast from the Red Star Diner and started another fun-filled day in Portland!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Hotel Monaco, Hotel Management
We know it is our staff that makes a stay! We are so please you enjoyed you visit with us. We will be sure to recognize the staff you mentioned. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, Wa

Posted Oct 22, 2017
The hotel is eclectic and fun. Amazing staff. The rooms are gorgeous. Will be returning for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Hotel Monaco, Hotel Management
We can't wait for your return! We look forward to having you with us again. Thanks for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great hotel right in Downtown

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: The beds/pillows could be a bit more comfortable.
Location: Lots of restaurants, pubs and shopping all within a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
Amazing hotel right in downtown Portland. The staff were all very nice and accommodating and friendly. They provided a goldfish for our 2 year daughter in our room for the duration of our stay. The decor is very chic and fun. The rooms were very large with plenty of furniture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Hotel Monaco , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I hope your daughter had a fin-tastic stay with us. We hope she gave her fish a name. If there is every anything you need while staying with us please let us know. It is important to us for our guests to enjoy their stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, Awesome Service

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The hotel was pretty nice, but what standard out was the service. Every single person I interacted with was courteous and ready to help you have a good experience. I would definitely be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Hotel Monaco, Hotel Management
Our thanks for joining us, we really appreciate the kind words about our home. We look forward to your return!