Ratings based on 1,698 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Sep 16, 2017
I think the staff is what really made out stay great. Both John and Kennedy were so helpful. They made us reservations and gave us tons of help with ideas for our stay in Portland. I love the central location of the hotel. It was in walking distance of everywhere in the Pearl district. I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel with new bathrooms. Nice kitchenette.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We stayed fir 4 nights in this hotel . It is close to everything . Walking distance to Powell bookstore , pioneer courthouse square and lots of good restaurants around the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
This hotel has a great location and the parking is right underneath the building which is very convenient. They also offer free breakfast. But with their price tag, couple things could have been better. 1. Check-in: Their guarantee check in time is 4 pm. I arrived at 3:50pm and was told room should be ready son and they will call me, which I totally understand. But I was sitting at the lobby till 4:25 pm without any phone calls. Then I went to the front desk and they said it's ready. 2. Cleanses: when I first walked into my room, the room looked clean to me. But I took a shower, I found a dirty towel hanging on the shower head. Then, I found some hair and a small piece of some unknown stuff underneath the blanket when I went to bed. We talked to front desk, but housekeeping was gone. So we were given a new flat sheet to use for the night. The manager responded early next morning, and waived the fee for our first night. 3. Tiny things: again, with this price tag, the tea bags and shampoo/body wash they provide could be better. The soap makes my hands really dry. The espresso machine in the lobby was broken. This is my first time staying here. And I think I will go back to Ace Hotel for my next PDX trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again for sure. Only thing is the elevator was pretty slow, so keep that in mind if you're in a rush.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Good amenities

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Nice cheese and wine in the late afternoon, very basic "breakfast" had no hot food. Coffee/tea out most of the day in the lobby. This is a pretty plain hotel, but it's got enough that I'd recommend it. Not sure of the value, as it's quite expensive. We did have a very large corner room with living area and kitchenette and cool view of the street. Parking is VERY tight, in a surface lot across the street. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We had a room without view but it was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Bathroom had a nice shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Good location, but not worth the cost

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Blue star donuts, restaurants, easy access to public transportation, target, whole foods, etc.
I'm not a particularly picky hotel guest, all I want is a clean, quiet, and private room. But I was surprised at how many things bothered me about my stay. Some of them are small fixes - the only curtains on the windows were black out curtains, but due to the shape of the hotel both of our windows looked directly into other hotel rooms. I could literally see another guest sitting in a robe in her room applying her makeup in her room just a few feet away. We had to keep our windows fully shut with the black out curtains if we wanted any privacy which was a waste of the beautiful sunshine. Most hotels offer two sets of curtains, one set of gauzy curtains that still allow you to enjoy the light and the view without losing your privacy for this reason. The walls were unusually thin and we could hear every word people walking past our room were saying - including staff discussing inter-hotel drama. The cleaning staff didn't wash the dishes in our suite's kitchenette sink, and when we inquired with the cleaning lady she said we had to leave a note specifically asking them to clean the dishes. There was nothing indicating this as a hotel-wide policy and this was my first time staying in a room with a kitchenette where the dishes were not automatically washed. The location of the hotel is great, in a shopping district with tons of restaurants and down the block from the famous Blue Star Donuts. But for the price that we paid, the service and the comfort just weren't there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Within stumbling distance of Powells

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The Mark Spencer Hotel is a perfect location from which to explore downtown Portland and the Pearl District on foot. The accommodations and staff are first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Perfect location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Nice hotel with great staff. The rooms look great. The linens could definitely be more comfortable (too slick for us!) but the bed was fine. The bathroom lighting is insufficient. The hotel is in a great location surrounded by excellent restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and undervalue

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I am an avid traveler and had great hopes for this place. For 400 on a weeknight I expected something, but there was no valet parking, our floor had not been vacuumed and the air conditioning was loud and not controllable. I've never written a poor review, but this was a disappointment.