Ratings based on 1,647 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Classic character

Posted Sep 13, 2017
This hotel was perfect. Every detail from the staff to the decor were top notch. The gym is well done both visually and equipment-speaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The Sentinel hotel was absolutely fabulous and we will be back. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was in excellent condition. The location was fantastic ideally situated in the heart of downtown Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Posted Sep 5, 2017
My husband and I stayed here after our wedding! The staff so kind and the room was absolutely gorgeous. It was a wonderful cap to a perfect day. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice place but charged too much for overnight park

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Nice,clean attentive and helpful staff.
Cons: Parking fee.
Location: Great location. Near Powell's books, banks and other retail centers
Just stayed one night but have stayed at the hotel a number of times over the years. My wife and I were very comfortable and pleased with the hotel in general. The only comments we would make is the overnight parking fee seemed excessive.. At that price if we had stayed a weekend we would have paid almost a hundred dollars just to park our vehicle. The only other concern we had was the poor service we received at "Jake's" restaurant the morning we left. We were promptly seated but had to wait for a while to be contacted by a server. The server apologized and said she was "training" a new server. We made our breakfast order and I asked the server if she could find out the radio station that was playing in the restaurant. She said she would. It took a long time to be served our meal and we had to signal our served twice for additional service, i.e. coffee refill, hot sauce. We later received our bill, checked it, and found the check was for another table. We contacted the server who retrieved our bill which we paid it. Prior to leaving I asked the server if she was able to find out about the radio station I had asked about. The server said she had forgotten and would check. The server returned with an answer. The reason we mentioned this situation is my wife and I have eaten at Jake's a number of times, including the previous evening, and have enjoyed excellent service. This is why the poor service we received that morning stood out so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

LOVE the Sentinel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The Sentinel well exceeded our expectations for our stay. Portland is a super walkable city and staying here you are in the heart of it all. Wonderful restaurants and shopping (Powell's is just a few blocks!). EXCELLENT staff and an elegant timeless feel. My son and I enjoyed our stay in Portland immensely and a big part of that was the hospitality and welcome of our beautiful room in this gorgeous old school traditional hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver,CO

Excellent hotel downtown

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Convenient to the Art Museum and Powell's City of Books. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Vancover BC

Downtown and close to good food options

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent staff and nice location downtown. Good restaurant options and just enough activity on the streets to people watch or hang out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Perfect location! Accessible to everything including food trucks restaurants, shopping, bookstore, China Town, Voodoo Donuts,and Target! Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Gave fabulous recommendations for restaurants and wine bars. Corner deluxe room spacious and beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sc

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Very nice hotel and staff was excellent Convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver.bc

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Overall fantastic ! Location , staff , decor, restaurant and Starbucks downstairs. Luv the valet😀