Ratings based on 1,652 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Perfection

Posted Jan 21, 2018
The hotel, the staff, the experience was the best anyone could expect or even imagine. I am 100% in love with this hotel and plan on coming back. The location is perfect for anything you would want to do. If I could I would give it 6 stars!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bremerton, WA

Great Location in Portland

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: Location, Service and atmosphere fantastic.
Cons: Maybe sound reducing interior shutters on the windows?
Location: Anything and everything you could do in Portland just out the door. Short walk to famous food trucks and reasonable highly rated restaurants.
Wonderful service, great hotel, comfortable room, pet friendlly. Only one problem, metro rail just outside the door, a bit noisy just outside begins at 6 am. Otherwise perfect. They make up for it with proximity to everything. Great restaurants "Jakes" attached to hotel and wonderful Italian restaurant "Mucca Osteria" just around the corner. Impeccable service and room. Front desk greated me by name with a smile everytime I passed by. Public parking nearby too. We will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Beautiful hotel near Pearl district and downtown

Posted Jan 14, 2018
This historic hotel is well-maintained, with warm and helpful staff. It is conveniently located to the Pearl district and city center attractions. Would highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Nolan M, Hotel Management
Thank you, Carlos, for the recommendation! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location and amazing staff. Please come back and visit very soon! Respectfully, Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best of Portland!!

Posted Jan 7, 2018
When I’m Portland you can never go wrong here. Best service!!! Happy and friendly. Know you by name.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Nolan M, Hotel Management
Thank you for the amazing feedback. We hope you come back and stay with us again very soon! Warmly, Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location, cool boutique hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Location: Great location -- located centrally to all of Portland's neighborhoods. Easy street car access.
We loved our stay at the Sentinel. The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. Plenty of room. The accouterments were both useful and entertaining. The edgy descriptions of the offerings in the hotel and the area were fun to read. The historic hotel as some quirks that also make for an interesting experience. Staff was quite nice and helpful. A couple of things to keep in mind: the fitness center was just adequate, but not great; the fee for valet parking is ridiculous -- park around the corner at the Smart Park for tens of dollars less; the security at the hotel is lacking--there's no key card required to use the elevator and there are entrances front and back that are not monitored carefully, in addition when I needed to have my key re-coded the front desk person requested no ID before giving me access to my room. Overall, we'd absolutely stay at this hotel again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Nolan M, Hotel Management
Hello Ron, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the quirky and edgy feel of the hotel. We should be checking ID for every key made so that our guests are safe and secure. We hope you give us another shot and come back and visit us again very soon. Respectfully, Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything downtown

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Very beautiful and historic hotel. The lobby bar has great drinks. There are a lot of details throughout the building that will make you feel like you are part of the past. There are giant art prints around the hotel that are fun to look at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Nolan M, Hotel Management
Thank you for joining us here at Sentinel during your visit to Portland. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in town. Warmly, Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon

Classic hotel, warm and historic

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Classy Christmas decorations, slice of Portland history, lively evening scene, smallish room but tasteful and nice
Cons: less expensive for special holidays (New Year's eve)
Location: Saw Nutcracker ballet, went out to dinner, shopping
We loved the atmosphere at Christmas and staff was friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Nolan M, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It pleases us to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Portland and Sentinel during the holiday season. We hope you come back and stay before the next holiday season! Warmly, Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene

Perfect location!

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Early check-in request was granted. Great location. Between downtown and the Pearl district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Nolan M , Hotel Management
Hello Derek, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Portland. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future! Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ex Portland

Overnight in Portland, Oregon

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: The people, and the way the hotel has maintained and treasured it's old world charm
Location: See above
Check-in was quick and efficient. I was offered every assistance. The room was really great, all that I needed for a good night's rest and a place to do a bit of paperwork. The hotel has a good location, with many down-town amenities in easy walking distance. I ate out, guided by the folk at reception since I had quite specific requirements, and the next morning I walked to pick up my rental car. The guys on the door were most helpful when I returned for my luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Nolan M , Hotel Management
Hello Jack, Glad to hear you had a great stay, even if just for a brief visit. Our staff has so many great recommendations in the downtown area and beyond no matter what you are looking for. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We hope you plan to stay with us again very soon! Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

TEPID WATER

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Everything but the water.
Cons: Have hot water.
Location: Was not there long enough to do much other than have our meeting.
No hot water just lukewarm showers. UGH! THERE WAS ONLY TEPID WATER NOT HOT WATER.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Nolan M, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sentinel. The old historical buildings can prove to be challenging with things such as hot water in cold weather, but we hope we met your satisfaction. We hope you enjoyed your meeting while you were here with us and hopefully you can take a leisurely trip back to visit us sometime in the near future. Warmly, Nolan Miltko Front Office Supervisor