Ratings based on 2,692 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach, CA

Rooms were small but clean.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Close to restaurants, in the heart of downtown.
Cons: personal effect storage is limited but could be improved. Parking is tight for sedans and crossover vehicles.
Location: Right by the river walk and at the epicenter of downtown. Many restaurants within walking distance and in the summer the flea market is 4 blocks away
Staff was friendly and we had a nice room overlooking the river. Complimentary bicycles to ride around downtown or by the river. Rooms were tight for a family of 4 but a lot of outdoor activities. Restaurants were walking distance along with the weekend flea market.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Refurbished hotel across street from waterfront

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Location close to downtown and park
Cons: Noise levels were loud as room faced busy street.
Location: Across street from parkway that is by the river. Close to downtown restaurants - all within walking
This is a funky place with character. Great location for walking on the waterfront path. Staff friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Jean, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Rose. We understand that the city streets can be noisy at times and we are more than happy to put you in a quieter room on the inside of the hotel if you would prefer that on you next stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Convenient downtown location.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Very good overall experience. Spouse and daughter loved the beds. Staff was pleasant. Keurig coffee maker. Easy on site parking. Very close to downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Don, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at Hotel Rose. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Fun and kitschy Portland experience! You can rent bikes from the hotel to explore the city, and they have great coffee from the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your review of Hotel Rose. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located downtown

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Loved this hotel - friendly staff, welcoming warm check in area with band playing in nearby bar The room was comfy & spacious with Tommy Bahama shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Included 2 free water bottles and had a Keurig coffee maker (please include creamer tho)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Greeetings, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Rose. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good location, good price

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, pleasant staff
This hotel is in a pretty good location on the waterfront. Lots of homeless folks, so avoid if you have difficulty viewing the realities of city life. I was here during the Blues Festival and it was pretty loud. There was live music that went on very late into the night and I heard all of it, even with the air conditioning blowing constantly. The room and the hotel itself were pretty nice and updated. There are other hotels nearby which are on another level as far as luxury, but this was a good price. I was not extended any VIP benefits, in spite of being a VIP+ member, so that was disappointing. I did not utilize the restaurant/bar area, but it seemed to be lively and enjoyed by those in attendance. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Rose. We are sorry that we missed extending you any VIP benefits and I appreciate your bringing it to our attention so we can make sure we catch it next time. We appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel disappointing check in

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This is a nice hotel and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. I was not happy with my check in experience. We were early but they made us wait 2 hours for our room when while we were waiting at least 6 other people got their room. They did nothing to expedite our wait. Otherwise the room and hotel were clean and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Patti, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at Hotel Rose. We apologize that you had to wait for your room to get ready. We understand your frustration and we we hope to welcome you back for a better check in process soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The location was excellent to all of the downtown shopping and eateries
Cons: The interior decoration especially in the hallways
Location: Location excellent to the downtown
For the price, couldn't have wanted for anything else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Rose. It sounds like you took full advantage of our wonderful location to get out and enjoy the city. We appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Easy access to the public rail. Room and rug clean
Cons: At least one more chain in the room so you dont have to seat in the bed.
Location: Close to everything
The location perfect close to everything we wanted to go, the room was better than we expected. The staff were really helpful and provided good service. The comforter compy, great coffee and easy access to the public rail.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Hotel Rose. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and it sounds like you took full advantage of our location to get out and enjoy the city and all the festivities. We appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine simple hotel if you just need a bed downtown

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Close to the river walk and downtown. Affordable and has bikes to ride. Cons: Feels like a motel, smells musky, rooms are small and outdated and lack the comforts and character of many other Portland hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello RedBrush, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Hotel Rose. We appreciate your feedback and we are working hard to get the hotel updated and have a lot of projects planned for the near future. We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager