Ratings based on 2,752 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL

Friendly friendly friendly staff. Room was cozy.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Great bed and linens. Rooms have great bathrooms. Incredible value for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Dave, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your stay at Hotel Rose. We are so happy you enjoyed our linens and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy them again in the very near future. Lucas Lee General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Waterfront hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff. Quiet rooms.
Cons: Needed to have the air conditioning on which was a bit noisy, otherwise the room was too warm.
Location: You can rent bicycles nearby, and Mother's bistro is excellent for breakfast (and we didn't need lunch as it is lots of food)
The hotel is nice and located on the waterfront... but the number of homeless people has exploded in Portland, which means you do not want to go north of the hotel. Go east -west, then north, or walk by the waterfront. We used the Nathan's list of preferred restaurants from the hotel, and found it very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Alison, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback of your stay at Hotel Rose. We are so happy to hear that Nathan was able to provide you with a list of some of the wonderful restaurants near by. We appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA.

Great Location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The staff made the stay a wonderful experience.
Location: Bike riding, people watching, shopping.
Had a great experience at the Hotel Rose. Great location with easy access to the waterfront park and bike trails. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Jay, Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Rose. It sounds like you took full advantage of our wonderful location to get out and enjoy Portland. We love to hear that our staff made your stay enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Lucas Lee General Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon coast

My new favorite

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The doorman and front desk were very efficient and friendly. Perfect location on the waterfront, near shopping and food carts. The drinks and food were amazing with new flavors and healthy choices. My only disappointment was during happy hour. It wasn't busy, -and with four employees, we were never once asked for our order without having to go up yobthe bar or call one to the table. The breakfast crew were great and attentive. Housekeeping do a nice job and the beds are amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Deanna, Thank you so much for your review and great pictures of Hotel Rose. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your feedback about your experience in the Restaurant. We appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Lucas Lee General Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Great place

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This hotel is located by the river in business district. Close to all restaurants and shopping area within walking distance. Friendly staff and clean updated rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Danny, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Hotel Rose. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Loved it!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Will definitely come back here! Loved the staff!! They took good care of us. I especially love that they welcomed our little pup so warmly! Thanks so much!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello A, Thank you for your review of Hotel Rose. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we always love when our guests bring their furry family members with them! We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The walls were very thin, could eaisly hear my neighbors. I read that coffee and water was free but they wanted to charge me $10 per night for that service. I explained to him that I was told it was free and he waived the charge. Don't think it was with $350+ per night
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Hotel Rose. We want to make sure that all of our guests understand that the amenity fee that is charged is spread out over all of our amenities including the shuttle and bike. We do have unlimited coffee and water for our guests which is a nice amenity. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Located on the river bank, close to all attractions and entertainments. Room is small, but nice and clean. Staff is friendly and professional. Nice restaurant and bar in the lobby. Free Wi-Fi. There is no "business center", but they let me check-in to my flight and print boarding pass from the computer on the reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Rose. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Lucas Lee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vinton, Iowa

What a happy place

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location, free bike rentals, great beds
Cons: Housekeeping not overly pleasant but did their job.
Location: Right across from the Willamette River. Walking distance to downtown shops, farmer's market, several bars and resturantes.
We were always greeted with a smile. People seemed genuinely glad we were there. Helpful, informative, pleasant. I can't say enough about these employees. Very welcoming
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Monica, Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Rose. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we love to hear that our staff took great care of you. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I don't usually stay downtown but some last minute business left me near Portland. I had a hankering for Jake's Grill so I booked a room that evening at what I considered a very reasonable price for the location, cheaper than those worn out hotels over by the airport. First I was surprised to find they have great parking. The room was really nice. Everything was clean and did not appear worn and tired like other places I have stayed nearby. It is within walking distance of dozens of great restaurants. I meandered over to Jake's grill and had an excellent meal at a very reasonable price. Without exception, every employee of the hotel that I interacted with was pleasant, smiling, efficient and seemed to have my well-being at heart. I had the salmon hash for breakfast at the hotel before departure. It was delivered by a charming and cheerful young lady with a spectacular attitude. The food was cooked perfectly but what made it special was the attitude of the employees, and not just one, but all of them, without exception. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend that you try it too. I loved the walk-in glass shower with an opening to set the water temperature. The room had a good sized television and teak, chrome and mesh furniture on the balcony. And not that fatiqued gray teak but this teak still had its brown tint and mesh that was not worn. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and I am generally considered a persnickety, whiny, pita.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Lucas Lee, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Dave, Thank you so much for your wonderful detailed review of your stay at Hotel Rose. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we we hope you get another hankering for Jake's Grill soon so we can welcome you back. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you back very soon. Lucas Lee General Manager