Ratings based on 2,203 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location Near Pearl District

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Everything I needed was in walking distance from the Benson. Staff was helpful and friendly. View of Mount St. Helens was an added little bonus. Room was small but clean. A refrigerator costs $15 a day, so I had to stuff my food in the minibar fridge because $15 a day for a fridge is just a ridiculous cost in these days when most hotels come equipped with a fridge. But ultimately, I enjoyed my two-night stay at the Benson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and nostalgic

Posted Jan 16, 2018
The most comfortable bed and pillows. I usually bring my own pillow when I travel but the Benson's are the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Wonderful staff! great welcoming. Beautiful hotel with lots of history. Closed to bars, restaurants, shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Most comfortable bed with soft sheets and plenty of pillows. Hotel had great view of downtown Convenient location to downtown, walking distances.to great restaurants and shopping. interior is very classic and nice. Would definitely visit again. Family friendly. Friendly and courteous staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Hands down one of the classiest hotels

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Local resident , always wanted to stay here . 135.00 a night !! How could I pass that up!! 11th floor , great view of downtown . The fake fur blankets are amazing !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2018
This is a beautiful older building which has been well kept and the staff is great. It is very central, quiet, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Our only issue was the availability and timeliness of the elevators. After check in we waited along with a few others for at least 20 minutes for an elevator car. We had an 11th floor room so stairs were not really an option. Everything else was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Just an average hotel, nothing special. Only thing is the room smells a bit musky. Doesn't smell as clean as I'd like it to d be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amelia Island, FL

Charming, old world hotel in downtown Portland.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
My husband and I really enjoyed a fun and relaxing overnight stay. The Palm Court lobby bar and restaurant had great food, service a super live jazz singer. No need to venture out on a cold night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT LOCATION FOR DOWNTOWN ACCESS, TRANSPORTATION

Posted Jan 1, 2018
THE ROOM WAS SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE, THE HOTEL WAS ATTRACTIVE (IT WAS CHRISTMAS SO I WOULD EXPECT IT TO SHINE). ONE FRONT DESK MEMBER WAS A LITTLE ON THE ROUGH SIDE, BUT ONLY ONE. THE REST OF THE STAFF WERE PROFESSIONAL, POLITE, AND EFFICIENT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by The Benson Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Five-Star Rating! We are thrilled to know that you were able to experience the hotel during the holiday season. We pride ourselves on the friendly and accommodating nature of our staff and we are pleased to hear that for the most part, you experienced just that. We do appreciate knowing about your check-in encounter so we can share with our team and work to continually improve. Thank you once again for choosing the Benson Hotel and we hope you will join us again soon.