Ratings based on 1,644 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Nice hotel, beautifully decorated room. Minor comp

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel is gorgeous and we were upgraded to a suite called the "oregon symphony room." It was an absolutely beautifully designed and decorated room. We were really blown away by it. The only thing was that i was expecting a bigger bed, especially when your calling it a suite, but that was a small complaint. The hotel was a little close to the symphony so the applause was loud around 11 pm so keep that in mind when booking. Also, weird thing: they had vibrators in the welcome basket....I have never had that happen and was shocked and amused. Another small annoyance: for the price there really should be some kind of complimentary breakfast. The restaurant is spendy. Got the parfait for breakfast and was not impressed. Overall this was a really nice, comfortable place to stay for the night but if it was multiple nights I might go for something that had more included amenities such as parking, breakfast etc. Staff were helpful and the valet were much appreciated. Overall very happy with it for the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in downtown

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Staff are friendly and accommodating
Cons: Need an alternative to the valet parking
Rooms are small, Valet parking very expensive. The hotel restaurant, Headwaters features seafood, we had the best crab cakes ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run Down, Not Worth the Price

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Cons: It's over priced for the room size and cleanliness.
I stayed at the Heathman looking to get some quality rest following a cross country flight. The room was small, the mirror was dirty, the bathroom was tiny. The walls were so thin that I was woken several times throughout the night by a screaming baby in the next room. Additionally, the breakfast was mediocre. On a positive note, the staff were friendly but overall I think I would have done better at the Hilton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Great staff. Guys out front super helpful.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Location couldn't be better. Restaurant and bar is top notch. Door man and valet guys really hustle. They know the area and gave good advice as to where best places to check out were. Great trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from protland orefon

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice relaxing stay with a warm welcome by staff. Enjoyed the featured local spirits offer complementary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: character. friendly staff. welcome beverage. great coffee.
Excellent experience. Great older hotel w/ charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redmond wa

Great hotel, wonderful staff, no breakfast b4 8am

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Great room! Great staff! Great locale, only disappointment was no breakfast on Sunday before 8 am
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

Mixed Experience

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: LOUD street construction outside of hotel- a heads up. Parking too expensive, no facility fee, better staff.
Gruesome front desk staff (one person who checked us in and out), one of the worst ever encountered. Considerable Facility fee (hidden) until you check out. Pricey parking fee ($44) they don't mention. Poor management at the hotel. Undrinkable coffee. Pleasant room, though the bathroom shower and toilet together in a small cubby hole. The soap, shampoo, etc. very good quality. The maid service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Nice classic hotel near downtown. I walked everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, Oregon

Historic luxury hotel in the heart of Portland.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
A premium hotel destination that is sure to please both historic and luxury hotel guests alike. Amazing art and chandeliers as well as top level food and staff. Located in the heart of town and within the performing arts district it is perfect for an evening on the town or an extended vacation.