Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Providence RI

Posted Dec 4, 2017
1. The heat was broken the room was a constant 80 degrees. 2.We had to wait an hour for our room even when it was ready because the front desk “forgot” to call us. 3. Was given a handicap room when it was not needed- told them I didn’t need it and they said I would be charged if I switched it 4.When I called day before they couldn’t find my reservation and had me on hold for 15 minutes even though I booked 2 months in advance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Classic and comfortable

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Wonderful location. The glory of a well maintained classic hotel with lots of stories to tell. Lovely place, lovely stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Location was was great to get to most attractions. Hotel was ok but no air conditioning in room even though it was 80 degrees. They provided a fan and told us to open the windows but it was too noisy outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Nice hotel, awful staff

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Allow me to say that my overall rating is simply an "Okay", because the staff were absolutely AWFUL. Unhelpful at best. The hotel itself is stunning. Historic, charming, well maintained... The bed was beyond comfortable, and I had a beautiful view of Providence from my room I asked one of the front desk staff to call me a taxi. I'm from Montreal, so I didn't know any Providence taxi numbers. I was told by the man, "Just Google 'Providence Taxi' and call yourself." That's completely unacceptable service. I tried calling the front desk at around 10PM, because there was no water in my room. It rang and rang and rang. Finally I go downstairs to ask the girl directly. She's standing there, laughing with who I assume was a security guard or luggage carrier, while the phone STILL rings (I assume other rooms were trying to call down.) I asked, "Do you have any water down here?" And she just put a bag with two bottles on the desk. She literally did not say ONE WORD, before turning around and walking in the back. Nobody even offered to bring my luggage up to my room! Beautiful hotel, awful service... You're better off staying at the Omni, which is very close by and also rather beautiful. At least at the Omni, there's a decent level of customer service (I say this from experience).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Not at all as advertised.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The hotel I checked into looks NOTHING like the hotel I viewed online. The front desk staff is clueless, the hotel is in need of a total overhaul, and, my room looked like The Bates Hotel. DO NOT book this hotel, it's a giant dump.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
the manager is very rigid and not-understanding of certain/special situations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Charm of an older hotel but with renovated room

Posted Oct 16, 2017
All good hotels in major metro areas are overpriced but, given that, this was a decent value for a hotel with the charm of an older hotel but with renovated room, lobby and common areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - close to Brown U

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Lovely place, great service. The rooms were large and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Has seen better days

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: location room size was large
Location is great. The Front Desk staff (David) was really nice and helpful. The room was disappointing. We had to call for a blanket and pillows for sofa bed and when they arrived the blanket and pillows were old/flat. No spoons, plates etc in mini kitchen and microwave didn't work. Bathroom door was really squeaky which woke everyone up at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boulder co

Lacks the historic charm I was expecting

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I chose this hotel over hotels close to the airport because I thought it would be fun to stay in a nice suite in an historic hotel, especially after a week of traveling with small children. The room was clean, check in was quick, and overall it was just fine, albeit a little old around the edges. It wasn’t the luxurious historical fancy hotel I was expecting.... so if you just need a clean nice place to stay then look no further. If you want historic luxury, save your money.