Ratings based on 885 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Modern and Comfortable

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Picked this hotel based on the reviews after I canceled a trip to another destination yet still wanted a getaway. Hotel reminded me of a more European counterpart, with a very upbeat and modern vibe open circling through the revolving door. They pump in some sort of scent, had great tunes playing and just met us with smiles during our 10pm check-in after a long drive. We used the valet service, easy every time to retrieve our car during the trip. Room was a standard king, very clean, bathroom was very pretty with Aveda products...identical to the pics. Here and there I saw some minor wear, like a missing hook In bathroom, or paint off bottom of bathroom door, but just extremely minor wear and tear. Room came with an iron, which worked great, but a dinky blow dryer, with no nozzle. Wish more hotels would upgrade their blowdryers, simple upgrade. Other than that, I would totally stay at a Renaissance again. Yes, you can walk to RSID and the three campuses near the river very easily, and have options for dinner within walking distance. There's even a Nordstrom Right behind the hotel if you need to do some Shopping for forgotten items. It's not as central a location as the other hotels, but their reviews were cringeworthy. I'd stay there again if I head back up to Providence without any hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful view of the State Capital building!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great location, accessible to everything. Very friendly staff and heavenly beds
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Michael Canini - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! Our staff is truly what makes this hotel the special place it is. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beautiful building and a very convenient location to downtown shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Michael Canini - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star Review! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Spacious room & bathroom!
Cons: Wi-fi was bad, constantly had to reconnect and it is not password protected.
Location: Across the street from the state capital building that gives free tours daily, 2 blocks from train & mall. Very close to downtown!
Desk manager checked us in (Bill?) very nice and helpful. Several elevators. Hotel is close to downtown, mall, commuter rail/Amtrak (we went to Boston one evening and back), a lot to do around the area. Room and bathroom were very comfortable and spacious. Cleaning staff was very friendly. Exercise room on an upper floor, restaurant in the basement (did not eat at but nice to have).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Michael Canini - General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Austen Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that our wireless internet did not meet your expectations. We will be upgrading our internet service in the upcoming months above and beyond the standard for Renaissance. I will also pass on your note to Bill. It is always great when our customers recognize our team members. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from providence

Parking

Posted Jul 2, 2017
It should be easy access to a parking lot , because not everybody feels confortable usin Valet parking all the time, other then that customer service was great and nice, and quick!!! My room it wasn't like I wanted it, on the website it shows prettier rooms, my it wasn't that pretty , but it was clean which is very important, the cleanliness was spotless great job on that!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Michael Canini - General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Alan, Thank you for your 5 star review. Self Parking is available at the adjacent Providence Place Mall if you truly want to self park. I am extremely pleased to hear our service exceeded your expectations. Our staff is truly our best asset. I am sorry that your guestroom was not what you expected. We are a historic building which was retro-fit into a hotel. We have over 45 different rooms configurations offering our customers a different experience whenever they stay. I am thrilled that you found our style team did a great job ensuring the cleanliness of your room. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by David

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nice enough hotel, but very, very pricey.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very strange impression.

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Who can I send a letter to about my visit.
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Troy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels