Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT GO HERE

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Close to Malecon.
Terrible. Just Terrible. I requested 1 room, double bed (or queen). We get there and they gave us a room with two singles. Then they did nothing to accommodate us and give us some phoney reasoning behind getting what you get..with a shoulder shrug. They made us wait till sunday (2 days later) to move to a room with a double. By the way, the first room's (room 105) air conditioning unit electrocuted me when I touched it. Also,the roomis right beside main bridge traffic route.. VERY LOUD!! So, we move into the second room. 204.. Still loud but not as loud. Check. We get in. Toilet doesn't flush. Ever. Too weak. So every usage we had to literally fill water jugs and thrust the water into the flushing toilet to get it to go down. Still..shoulder shrugs.. nothing done. Next up. TV. distorted and all in black and white. Clearly a cabling issue. Get some staff to look at it, he has no idea.. I tell him to get an HDMI cable instead of using cheap analogue video cable. He says yes, and never returns...completely ignoring us. (i ended up getting one for myself, and it worked) Then, we were bit concerned about bites on our legs, so..I lift the mattress and low and behold..half the frame has been eaten by dam termites!! Pics to prove it! Won't ever stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Basic room in good location

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Location and price. Free coffee in Lobby. There is a bar on the top floor that is great for a late night snack/drink with a nice view.
Cons: Better sheets/towels/bedspreads.
Location: Very close to a main shopping market, restaurants, the Cathedral and the Malecon. Very short walk to "old Vallarta" which has lots of variety.
We were 2 couples in one room. It was kind of small for us. The room was clean, the a/c worked well even though noisy. TV was new & signal was great. Beds were comfortable, sheets and bedspreads were thin. The shower pressure was weak, but the water was warm enough. The staff is friendly. If you simply need a place to sleep and keep your stuff, it's just fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wading River, New York

Good location in Romantic Zone, BUT!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: This hotel has a good location and attractive lobby and roof area.
Cons: Rooms and baths need upgrade! Milk for coffee!
Location: Near beach and good restaurants.
The room was fair sized and clean. The bathroom was crowded with a poor shower head, cracked sink and 3 flush or more toilet! The bed was hard and uncomfortable. The staff was difficult to get required pillows even though requested months in advanced due to back condition. The room had been freshly painted but draws were also painted shut. Coffee in lobby had no milk ever! Not available according to staff. Limited paper products in room. No facial tissue paper. AC tempermental and difficult to maintain temperature. Staff at desk indifferent to pillow requests.Outside pool was over chlorinated and cool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Traffic noise overwelming!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
No water available even for washing hands. Only cold from bottled water! Traffic noise all night and horrendous bus, truck, motobikes from 4 am. Recommend away from this street and area if you need sleep! The room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

In the thick of it!

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The beauty about this hotel is your smack dab in the middle of old town. Great hotel for the price. Rooftop swimming pool nice. They could open up the restaurant upstairs a little earlier than 4 PM. I asked for a refrigerator for my room and this is what they brought me! Too funny you got a love it you have to see the humor behind that!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Fine as always

Posted Dec 14, 2017
I am a regular at the hotel visitin Puerto Vallarta several times I year....I like the location of this hotel...I enjoy the staff...I am only wishing the staff recognized my name to assure that I continue to get my favorite room each time I visit....all the rooms are fine for me....I just have my favorite...but I was given the general manager's card to contact him on my next visit...and I appreciate his efforts to please me. Gracias por todos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, wa

Great location and great views over the city

Posted Dec 10, 2017
I've been staying with Hotel Encino for many years and it's been a wonderful place to stay. Staff are very helpful and friendly and I feel comfortable and secure always. The hotel bar is a fantastic place for watching sunsets. The river is a great place to observe many species of birds and Iguana are abundant in all sizes and colors. I hope to return in March with friends who I'm sure will find the Encino as welcoming and enjoyable as I have .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the old part of the city, steps from the Maleco

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: location, price
Cons: WiFi in the room was in and out, in and out, mostly out... sooooo annoying to have to go to the LOBBY to get any business done
Staff were helpful, the pool was wonderful, the rooms were old but clean, balcony overlooking the river was a delight, the restaurant served good food, steps to an OXXO and a ton of restaurants... and the cheapest price on booking.com... THIS was good deal and a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Close to the beach, safe area

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: It was clean and safe to walk at night
Cons: The singing at 3-4am. It was very loud and I couldn't sleep at night. Very annoying
Location: Close to the beach and the romantic zone. Right across the hotel there is a market.
We stayed at hotel Encino for 5days. The room was clean and super friendly staff that will help. ~5min walk from the hotel to the beach. We were worried about how safe it was to walk at night. My sister and I are both petite girls and we walked back at 2am on one of the nights and it was completely safe. My only complaint would be the loud screaming and singing at 3-4am. For 5days we heard multiple people screaming and singing EVERY NIGHT. It was so annoying because we couldn't sleep. If you plan to stay here be prepared to be woken up at 3-4am. Overall, it was a nice hotel but I don't think I will stay here in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

nice hotel close to the beach and el malecon

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: the closest it to the beach
Cons: none
My first time at this hotel, many times in Puerto Vallarta, it has a great location and rooms were very clean