Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Creston, OH

Just OK for the low price

Posted Jan 5, 2018
The staff was friendly and the food was very good. The service at the restaurant was very slow. The location is very good and close to everything. The pool area should be used as such and the dining tables around the pool should be replaced with lounge chairs...it’s awkward to swim next to people eating a meal and the pool wasn’t used much because of this. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean except the bathroom faucet was a series of copper fittings with rusty industrial valves and it was loose. The air conditioning worked well but was hard to control because the thermostat display was unreadable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for sharing a review with us following your stay at our property. We would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously, and we appreciate the time you’ve taken to let us know how you feel about your visit and for providing us with these important details, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of making it up to you the next time you’re in Hotel Rio Malecon Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, perfect location, steps from ocean

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Cons: Better pillows. They were a bit flat.
Do not come to PV and stay at an all-inclusive! PV has amazing food. This hotel is perfect if you want to be in the middle of all the action, near all the hot food spots, and steps away from the malecon. The hotel staff was pleasant, the rooms were clean, and I felt very safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We are so pleased to have welcomed you. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay. We are very pleased that we were able to impress you in such a way that you would definitely keep us in mind for a return visit. We look forward to our next chance to serve you. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, bc

Posted Dec 30, 2017
staff at front desk were very accomodating. Helped me find a specialty store then told me which busses i had to take. Worked like a charm Jjkjgfdssnñnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnñbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we eagerly await our next opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice facility. Close to malecon, nice restraunts,

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Close to restraunts, art galleries. It was quiet.
Cons: Not much to improve on .
Location: Lots of things to look at. Night clubs & entertainment on the malecon
We always enjoy Puerto Vallarta. Friendly happy people & always ready to do extra.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for all of your kind words surrounding our staff, services and location. We truly appreciate your review and recommendation you have shared on Expedia. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel near the Malecon

Posted Dec 29, 2017
We stayed here for the location in Old Town and the good price. It is close to the action and near the Primera Plus Bus station. The staff was nice and the Restaurant was good. However the stairs were tough with luggage and the pool unheated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we eagerly await our next opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay in great location

Posted Dec 29, 2017
We slept wonderfully here. Although it is in a central location, there is little noise that enters the room when windows are shut. Very peaceful! The desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean, albeit extremely small. For the price, it should have been a king size bed instead of a double, and the bathroom could really use a fan or window option! Mold growing along ceiling due to humidity from the shower in heat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation in Puerto Vallarta at Hotel Rio Malecon. We greatly appreciate your kind words of encouragement for our staff and the warm friendly ambience they provided on your visit. Please rest assured that we are looking into resolving the issues about the bathroom and mold as promptly as possible to prevent them from affecting your next vacation at our hotel in the future. We look forward to our next chance to serve you. Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach and action

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Newly upgraded, close to action and beach
Cons: na
Location: beach, restaurants, clubs, shopping
Great hotel for a quick stay. Staff is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we eagerly await our next opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, BC

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Dec 25, 2017
The hotel feels like a hacienda, very hospitable with old world charm. Our room was just the right size with a view to the ocean from our balcony- room 210. The hotel is in the busy part of Centro close to everything - shops, restaurants, flea markets, and the malecon/boardwalk. The restaurant called CoExist, downstairs, was perfect for breakfast in the morning. Delicious food with lovely presentation and wonderful service by Niva, Jose, Rafael.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, location and the hotel facilities, be assured we will continue to create new experiences that will elevate your senses. We hope you will visit us again soon. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nanaimo

Great hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Great hotel, great people working there, great at answer any questions you have
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we eagerly await our next opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Nice room, terrific service, OK location

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Great deal! Rooms were new with modern loft style. Staff provided both of our parties an upgrade, they were open, very friendly and consistently helpful. Hotel is less than 1 block from the boardwalk, in an older neighborhood, just a couple blocks from the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to our paradise. Warm regards