Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfinished bathroom. Faucets were copper shut off

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Not a 4.1 star . A bit stark to USA and Canadian standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Close to everything

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Im a foodie so was very happy to know that I had all kinds of food near by. The Malecon was half a block away. The Catedral was 2 blocks away so considering that everything was close by it made my vacation much better it was my girlfriends first time in vallarta and she was amazed im glad we stayed at that hotel hopefully we come back next year to see new places
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Warning About Hotel Rio Malecon

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: THE BED
Cons: The staff attitude when it cames to welcome the gusts, they are not friendly at all. The hotel is not handicap friendly at all, there not elevators.
Location: The hotel is a block away from the malecon, and two blocks away from the market. is right between two busy intersections.
I was very dissapointed when arrived at the hotel during my checki in, I didn't the usual warm welcome from the staff, instead I informed, which felt like a warning about the items in the room such as: The towels in the bathroom, the empty glas jar and two glasses, the blanket, etc. in the room, I felt forced to sign the the stupid piece of paper agreeing that if something was missing from the room I will be fully responsible for it. I don't recomend this hotel to any one, althoug the room was kept clean, it is not what they show on the youtube videos and pictures. The hotel is a block away from the malecon, which very convinient, and two blcoks from the Artesaias market, where you will be spending a lot of money if you are not carefull, The hotel does not give not even a bottle of water, so be prepared to spend about 200 pesos for breakfast, 200 for lunch and another 250 for dinner, making a total of 650 pesos per day times the number of days you are staying, it is not worth it. I rather buy an all inclusive package at about 800 pesos per day, and have the confort of a huge facility, nice wardens, big pool, food and drinks at your dispossal, and the warm welcome of the staff. I DO NOT recommend THIS HOTEL AT ALL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great affordable hotel by malecón

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel when I have visited Puerto Vallarta. This hotel has a great location and a really good restaurant. It is a bit noisy if your room is over the main avenue but I think this place is a great deal and perfect for a short trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in center of PV

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Location of hotel was great, one block away from malecón, and market place, and muertos beach. Staff were kind and rooms were clean. They have an energy saving system that all the power doesn't turn on until the key is in place which we had to get used to. The pool looks a lot smaller than pictures and we didn't really use as much as we thought we would. We ended up staying 2 extra nights. Great prices. The suite with the large bed and sofa bed with kitchenette four our family of four. The restaurant coexist on the 1st floor had good food too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for all of your kind words surrounding our staff, services and location. We truly appreciate your review and recommendation you have shared on Expedia. Your experience is invaluable to us and we eagerly await our next opportunity to serve you as you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon at Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta Warm regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Did not stay there. Need a refund. Got to room. Air conditioner was broken; no sound on TV. room was 28C. moved to different hotel. Had paid for room in advance. If I do not receive refund will never use hotels.com again. this hotel should not be on your selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017
Dear traveler, We really apologise for the inconvenience with the A/C At your earliest convenience, we ask that you contact us directly so we can talk to you about this issue. Warm regards Ulises Arguelles
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel doesn't have parking space but it is in a great area literally you just cross the street to go to the malecon. They have a weird system with their a/c that everytime you open the door your a/c and lights turn off within a minute. They want to charge you for towels if they get a little dirty. Their bathroom floor was very slippery and my daughter slipped and hit her head. Be careful with that because thy dont have rubber mats; I had to put a lot of small towels on the floor to shower after that incident. Other than that, we had a great time and staff was very friendly and hotel is right next to the pueblo viejo market for souveniers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for sharing a review with us following your stay at Hotel Rio Malecon. We would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously, and we appreciate the time you’ve taken to let us know how was your experience during your visit. Please rest assured that we are looking into resolving these issues as promptly as possible to prevent them from affecting your next vacation at our property. Thank you again for providing us with these important details, and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of making it up to you the next time you’re in Puerto Vallarta. Warm regards
5 out of 5
by BARBARA

Great hotel and super friendly staff

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay here. The front desk lady was super friendly and very eager to help with anything you needed. The room was great and bed was super comfortable. The only downside was having to carry our luggage upstairs but we managed. The area is great and very near the malecon. Lots of restaurants and other places to go nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta. We are thrilled to hear you were pleased with your experience here, and that our attentive staff, location, and accommodations were just some of the highlights of your stay. We will let Cali knows that you took the time to mention her service. We appreciate your review and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again someday. Warm regards Ulises Arguelles
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Great hotel food was excellent daily happy hour restaurant closed Monday 24 hour convenient store 50 feet away Beach 2 minutes away, surrounded by great restaurant's from small hole in the wall street taco's to fine dinning close to public transportation night life very small pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to our paradise. Warm regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Dear traveler, Thank you very much for rating us. We look forward to serving you soon as you deserve. Warm regards Ulises Arguelles