Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Rise to a spectacular view

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Pros: The view and the cleanliness
Cons: The microwave in our kitchenette was not working
Location: It's a great location because you can walk everywhere or you are close to public transit. The Malecon nightlife is easily accessible from the hotel.
Everything about our experience was great! Upon arrival, check-in was a breeze and check-out was equally easy. Every interaction with hotel staff was pleasant and they are all very friendly. Towels were changed daily and the suite was clean. The best part of our suite was the spectacular view while still being centrally located. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a steep walk up many stairs to get to the hotel property....we looked on the bright side and thought to ourselves that at least we were burning off the calories of all the food we were enjoying. The hotel has an authentic traditional feel, while still being comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Average hotel about 4 blocks from beach.

Posted Dec 20, 2017
An older hotel with lots of deferred maintenance. Staff was very helpful and restaurant on 7th floor is excellent.
1 out of 5
by LUIS

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
The manager and staff was unable to change out a light bulb. The pool has green slime or mold. They give you towels for the whole stay not day by day. Management are not the friendliest people and Puerto Vallarta has many friendly people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great view - but horrible business within earshot

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: location on the hill
Cons: close the business below called "the zoo"
Location: show - eat well and lots of walking
First off - the people who work & stay at the hotel are fantastic. Note - they speak very little if any English on site. The hotel is a old 6 story (plus two on top for restaurant / bar). The rooms have no a/c - so keep that in mind when you book. The rooms are comfortable and clean - and the staff is very good. Its a hike down to the malicon (steps down to the street) which was ok - but the trip back up to the hotel was worth a cab ride (50 pesos). There where a few problems - but the staff took care of them. The main complaint is about a business three blocks down the hill - The ZOO - this place sucks and should be closed. They play loud thumping music starting at 10pm - all the way to 5am !!!! did I mention the hotel has no a/c? - so your windows are open - How they get away with this noise is unbelievable. PV needs to stop this business from ruining the local area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Good Place to stay without Luxury

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: kitchen View
Cons: Need to add Air Conditioning to the rooms
Location: Location is Good for People Who likes go the Clubs nearby
This Hotel Doesn't Have Air Conditioning, I stay here in May 19-26 ( hot days ) and need to Open windows all the time to cool off Noisy during every night, because the Clubs are so Close from here streets around are Filthy ...No nice ! but some rooms has Kitchen with all you need to prepare some food Housekeepers doesn't Clean properly the room, just make the bed has Some Nice View of the city if you don't need air conditioning during Real Hot days This Hotel if Perfect for you most of the Staff is Friendly and Helpful ( Juan Manuel ) is a Plus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Great panoramic view

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful. The bottle water supplied in the room. There was a pool available which was heated naturally by the hot sun.
Cons: A supply of maps of the area would be helpful. More English speaking staff would be nice.
Location: I liked the walk up to the hotel each day. It was close enough to the malecon/downtown to access the plethora of restaurants, bars and local events.
It was great to be able to prepare breakfasts and small meals as utensils and small appliances were available. It was awesome to sit and relax with friends and family on the wraparound balcony to enjoy the available panoramic view. The room was cleaned daily and bottled water supplied. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by John

Centrally located and good views.

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was wonderful. This is the second time we have stayed at this property. It is central to everything. We are having difficulty recouping our free night however.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Steinbach, MB

Great view and convenient location, not much else

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the wedding we were attending. It affords a great view of the ocean and a short but steep walk to the Malecon, which was quite loud at night. Only one staff member could communicate in English, but it is an authentic Mexican hotel and not a chain hotel. The most uncomfortable part was having only cold water for three out of four days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cold Lake,Alberta

The view

Posted Jan 1, 2017
This was the second time we stayed here and we'll likely come back because of the unparalleled view of old town Vallarta and the Pacific.
5 out of 5
by frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels