Ratings based on 9,418 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs remodeling ASAP

Posted Feb 24, 2018
Checking was easy and staff was helpful , my issue is with the room , very outdated. Alright TV but not HD , wall paper chipping off , blinds are ripped , furniture too old , no microwave, no mini fridge , no coffee machine , no iron , only 2 large towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No what it used to be

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Really run down. I wouldn’t recommend staying here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Terrible stay at the Sands hotel in Reno, NV.

Posted Feb 21, 2018
We were on the 12th floor and it was windy as hell. you could hear the wind coming through the window all night. the window was a slide open window that was not seal tight. the wind was so loud we could not sleep. had to crack the window open to make the noise stop but, by doing that, we froze because it 28 degrees outside. horrible experience. room 1251. go check it and see what i am talking about.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa rosa ca.

Dirty hotel but inexpensive

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Dirty hotel. Wall paper was coming off the wall on my room. Dirty base boards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2018
tub would not drain, they tried to snake the drain found nothing still wouldn't drain!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Within anout 10 minutes of walking to check in, I was wishing I had booked elsewhere. The line to check in took longer than any check in line I have been in. Once we got to the front, were immediately turned away due to the name on the reservation not matching my ID. I have NEVER had an issue booking when someone else has made the reservation, even if we have called them to clarify. Instead, I was handed the number for Expedia and told to call them to have them change the number on the reservation. When I asked why I had never had issues, or how long it would take to get the name transferred (mind you, it was after 11 at this point and we just needed a place to stay) I received a smirk and a shrug in the coldest fashion I have ever received from someone representing a hotel/casino/anywhere with customer service and personnel staff. We were then told to get into the back of the line, which mind you was still just as long as before. (While sitting and waiting on the line with Expedia, we watched her turn away 5 more families trying to check in.) When reaching the front we made sure to go to another person, who even though Expedia put the wrong name on the reservation upon changing it, still allowed us to check in. Her attitude and bubbliness made up for the personality the first staff member was thoroughly lacking. As for room cleanliness and view, it made our stay okay. We just needed a place to sleep as we weren’t planning on staying in our room during the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Feb 20, 2018
2nd nigh, There was no spaces available for parking. Had to park on the street. Besides that, worth the stay for the price per night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

It’s one of the cheapest for a reason

Posted Feb 19, 2018
When you show up and park at the parking structure, the elevator to go down to the loby does not work so I had to walk the stair with my family 5 levels down. When trying to check in Emily had an attitude and was texting on her phone while checking us in. After she tried 20 times to swipe my card she tells me that the 2 rooms I had booked for the night we’re not showing up. That somehow when she was trying to swipe my card the check in date got changed. Overall it took about 30 minutes to check in because Emily had to call her manager to fix the issue. We finally get our keys and the attitude continued but we were happy to finally check in so we didn’t care much at that point. Wife took a shower and the tub plugged up. Water finally drained after 30 minutes or so on its own. Beds are not comfortable and I could barely sleep. Overall the facility is dated and it’s very noticeable. To have friendly and welcoming staff and a smooth check in would have made up for it. Will not recommend this place to anyone that I care about.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico Ca.

Gone to Crap with new owners.

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Food was not bad.
Cons: Just about everything. No one to help or answer questions. Maintenance needs to be improved, also the cleanliness.
They had our reservation but not a room at Check in. Settled for another Ok room with out promised items. Only 1 bellboy for everyone checking in on a Friday Eve. The elevator for the parking garage was broken, resulting in us carrying bags by hand down 3 stories. Only one of the elevators in the hotel worked consistently. The other 2 occasionally worked. No Wi-Fi hookup instructions, when I figured it the procedure out it connected but the internet did not work. I had to stand in line for 10 minutes to get the troubleshooting phone number which did eventually end up getting the internet to work. Rooms were dirty and poorly outfitted. We stayed here a few years ago and it was a nice place to stay. Now with the new owners it has gone way downhill. We will never stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Good!!

Posted Feb 19, 2018
The hotel is very out dated. First when we got there the elvator in the parking garage was not working. The staff is friendly and helpful but the hotel is in bad conditions. When we got to our room we noticed that the furniture was old. Then we noticed there were spider webs on the ceiling. We also noticed there were stains on the bathroom walls. The tub had stains on it as well. We tried to not let it bother us since we were staying there for one night. After coming back from our walk around town we noticed that tub was dirty but were not sure why. The next morning the tub was full of water. We assumed that some how other rooms water drains into our tub. It stayed full and we were not able to shower. We called for maintanance but no one ever showed up. So we decided to just check out since no one was going to help us. At check out we complained and that maybe we could get a discount. We were told that that since we booked through a third party they couldn't help us. We told them that it wasn't fair. The manager said that the only thing she could do is give us a food coupon. At that point we just took it and left. Last time we stay at this location.